Steve Bucknor accepts his incorrect decisions against Sachin Tendulkar, says ‘those were mistakes’

By: |
June 21, 2020 8:26 PM

Like Bucknor says, to err is human, but when that error in judgment leaves an enormous impact on the outcome of the game you are adjudicating, it can tarnish your reputation permanently.

One of the two mistakes that Bucknor has pointed out as his mistakes were the decisions to give Sachin out LBW against Australia at the Gabba in 2003 (File image: AP)

Steve Bucknor accepts ‘mistakes’: Umpire Steve Bucknor, of the infamous Bucknor-Benson umpiring duo that was in the eye of the storm during the controversial 2008 Sydney Test between India and Australia, has been accused by many cricket fans in his umpiring career, but it was a couple of his decisions against Sachin Tendulkar that still haunt him. Recalling those two occasions when he had judged the batting legend out, Bucknor said that such judgments live with the umpires and their careers could be massively hit due to such instances. However, Bucknor, who was considered among the top umpires in the 2000s, said that in his view no umpire would want to do a wrong thing and that error in judgment is a psrt of the human behavior.

“Tendulkar was given out on two different occasions when those were mistakes. I do not think any umpire would want to do a wrong thing. It lives with him and his future could be jeopardised,” Bucknor said on Mason and Guests radio programme.

One of the two mistakes that Bucknor has pointed out as his mistakes were the decisions to give Sachin out LBW against Australia at the Gabba in 2003 while the other error being the caught-behind decision against Pakistan.

At the Gabba in 2003, Tendulkar had left a Jason Gillespie’s delivery that had pitched outside the off stump. Tendulkar may have misjudged the movement of the ball, but given Gabba’s reputation of being a bouncy pitch, it was not criminal of Sachin to have left the delivery. The ball jagged back and hit Tendulkar’s pad and after an appeal, Bucknor nodded in his typical manner and raised his finger to send Tendulkar back to the pavilion.

In 2005, Tendulkar was given out caught behind off the bowling of Abdul Razzaq. He was well settled at the crease when Bucknor adjudged him out while the replay clearly indicated that there was a gap between his bat and the ball. Bucknor, however, has blamed his inability to hear the sound properly and said that “at the Eden Gardens, if India is batting, you hear nothing.”

Like Bucknor says, to err is human, but when that error in judgment leaves an enormous impact on the outcome of the game you are adjudicating, it can tarnish your reputation permanently.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Sergio Aguero willing to apologise for touching lineswoman on shoulder: Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola
2IPL 2020: How a Bluetooth tracker helps maintain social distancing among players
3Virat Kohli is most complete player across formats: England Test skipper Joe Root