BJP leaders L K Advani, M M Joshi revolt against Narendra Modi

By: |
November 10, 2015 10:09 PM

Senior BJP leaders L K Advani, M M Joshi and others have accused Narendar Modi of emasculating the party.

Knives were out in the Bharatiya Janata Paty (BJP) tonight with veteran leaders L K Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and two others raising a banner of revolt against the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the wake of Bihar debacle saying that the party has been ’emasculated’ in the last one year and was being ‘forced to kow-tow to a handful’.

In the first challenge to Narendra Modi since he emerged the undisputed leader of the party and the government in May last year, the veterans including Shanta Kumar and Yashwant Sinha issued a brief but strongly-worded statement that demanded a thorough review of the debacle.

“The principal reason for the latest defeat is the way the party has been emasculated in the last year.

“A through review must be done of the reasons for the defeat as well as of the way the party is being forced to kow-tow to a handful, and how its consensual character has been destroyed,” the statement said.

Before the statement was released from the residence of Joshi, a former BJP president, former union minister Arun Shourie and former RSS ideologue K N Govindacharya were closeted with Joshi.

The statement said the results of the Bihar election showed that no lesson has been learnt from the fiasco in Delhi, where the Aam Aadmi Party trounced BJP by securing 67 of the 70 assembly seats.

“To say that everyone is responsible for the defeat in Bihar is to ensure that no one is held responsible. It shows those who would have appropriated credit if the party had won are bent on shrugging off responsibility for the disastrous showing in Bihar,” it said.

The statement is an apparent dig at the Finance Minister Arun Jaitley’s defence of the leadership yesterday after the Parliamentary Board’s review of the performance in which he had said “as far as accountability is concerned the party wins collectively and loses collectively”.

He was reacting to a query whether party chief Amit Shah would be held responsible for the defeat.

The leaders demanded that a thorough review must not be done by the very persons who have managed and have been responsible for the campaign in Bihar.

After Modi became the Prime Minister and Shah BJP chief last year, Advani, who had served as the party president for the longest period, and Joshi were made members of the “margadarshak mandal” (guiding group). Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh are part of the group, besides ailing former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Adding to the revolt, a former union minister and a senior leader from Bihar C P Thakur also attacked the leadership saying after serving the party for so long, he was pained to see that the relationship between the central leadership and the grassroot workers  now has become one of master and the servant.

He was also severely critical of RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat’s “one remark” on reservation that “cost us the entire election”.

“BJP was winning the election before this remark was made. But once the remark was made and the way Lalu and Nitish made it an issue, The party became helpless,” Thakur said.

Earlier in the day, Bhola Singh, two time MP from Begusarai in Bihar, had brought Modi and Shah in the line of fire, saying they injected communalism in the campaign.

“People went to Modi looking for a Prime Minister but they found a Lalu in him,” he said.

“Prime Minister fell to Lalu’s googly and left his ‘sabka saath sabka vikas’ pitch. He started speaking in Lalu’s language. He began using undignified language while Nitish Kumar did not forget decorum even in the battle field,” he said.

Late in the night, Bhola Singh welcomed the statement of party veterans, saying “those who gave birth to the party are trying to save it from demise”.

He said the statement serves as lighting a lamp in the soul on the eve of Diwali.

Ever since the rout in Bihar, three MPs from the state –Shatrughan Sinha, Hukumdev Narayan Yadav and R K Singh – had severely critcised the party’s approach and campaign in the election which they said contributed to the debacle.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1UK minister Liz Truss to announce new strategic forum, tech tie-ups in India
2PM Narendra Modi to address the nation at 10 AM
3Internet snapped in areas of Kashmir, two-wheelers seized ahead of Amit Shah’s visit