Ashok Gehlot election result: Congress’ former CM wins in Sardarpura constituency

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: December 11, 2018 6:24:16 PM

Sardarpura constituency result: Former Congress Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot is contesting election from Sardarpura constituency in Jodhpur district which falls in the west region of Rajasthan.

Ashok Gehlot, Sardarpura constituency result LIVE UpdatesAshok Gehlot, Sardarpura constituency result LIVE Updates

Sardarpura constituency result: Former Congress Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot won from Sardarpura constituency, defeating BJP’s Shambhu Singh Khetasar. Gehlot, a two-time former CM, defeated Khetasar by over 40,000 votes. The seat is categorised as an urban seat.

In 2008 and 2013 elections, Gehlot had won from Sardarpura constituency of Jodhpur. He had defeated Sambhu Singh Khetasar in 2013 by a margin of over 18,000 votes and Rajendra Gehlot in 2008.

Also Read: Rajasthan election result: Full list of winners

The constituency has a total of 2.27 lakh voters which includes 1.10 lakh female voters. This time, the constituency recorded a voter turn out of 65.85% against 70.13% in 2013.

Gehlot had served as the CM of Rajasthan twice — first time between December 1998 and December 2003 and second time between 2008 and 2013.

Prior to his election to the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly in 1998, Gehlot was active in Congress’ national politics. He had held several portfolios in Rajiv Gandhi government and PV Narasimha Rao government.


Follow for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.