World Test Championship Final India squad: No surprises in India’s playing 11 for WTC final, Ishant preferred over Siraj

By: |
Updated: June 17, 2021 9:51 PM

World Test Championship Final India squad: The three pacers are Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, leaving no space for the impressive Mohd Siraj.

world test championship final India squad,India's Virat Kohli during practice for ICC World Test Championship Final at Rose Bowl, Southampton, Britain (Reuters image)

India on Thursday went for tried and tested players, preferring veteran Ishant Sharma over Mohammed Siraj in the playing eleven for the World Test Championship final against New Zealand.

Also Read — World Test Championship Final – Preview: Virat Kohli eyes legacy, Kane Williamson prize for consistency in battle of equals

On expected lines, the team picked two specialist spinners in Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin, who are also more than handy with the bat.

The three pacers are Ishant, Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, leaving no space for the impressive Siraj.

Also Read – World Test Championship final: Indian players not allowed to meet each other for three days in Southampton

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant will bat at number six.

The match will begin on Friday at the Ageas Bowl.

Also Read – India fix Lord’s date: Kohli and Co thrash England, to meet New Zealand in WTC final

India’s Playing XI: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1India tour of South Africa: Proteas go with tried and tested squad; Magala, Rickelton get maiden call-up
2BWF World Tour Finals: PV Sindhu loses to South Korea’s An Seyoung in final, bags silver
3PV Sindhu defeats Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi to enter BWF World Tour Finals