Kothrud Election Results 2019: Chandrakant Patil wins by 25,000 votes against MNS candidate Kishor Shinde

By: |
Updated: October 24, 2019 6:10:44 PM

Kothrud Assembly Election Results 2019: Chandrakant Patil defeated MNS candidate Kishore Shinde by 25,495 votes. MNS candidate Kishore Shinde also had the backing of the Congress and NCP.

Maharashtra BJP chief Chandrakant Patil celebrates party lead with Pune MP Girish Bapat in Pune. (Express photo/Ajay Jadhav)

Kothrud (Maharashtra) Assembly Election Results 2019: Maharashtra BJP president and Cabinet minister in the Devendra Fadnavis government, Chandrakant Patil has won from the Kothrud Assembly seat in Pune by 25,495 votes. He defeated MNS candidate Kishore Shinde who also had the backing of the Congress-NCP alliance. In addition to Shinde, Patil was in contest against Pravin Namdeo Thorat of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Last year BJP’s Medha Kulkarni had won this seat by a margin of 64,662 votes. She defeated Shiv Sena’s Chandrakant Mokate.

READ MORE: Maharashtra Assembly Election Results 2019 LIVE

Considered close to Union Home minister Amit Shah, he has never contested an election so far and is an MLC in the state. Also the state BJP president, his candidature had earlier upset sitting Kulkarni, who had even reached the Mumbai BJP office in protest. At the time, Patil intervened and the matter was sorted out.

Patil was born to a west Maharashtrian family on June 10, 1959. He joined ABVP, the student wing of RSS, at the age of 18. Patil went on to join BJP in 2003 and rose to become the state unit vice president in 2013. One year later, he was elected to Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

Kothrud is among the 288 Maharashtra Assembly constituencies that went to poll on October 21. It is also among the twenty-one constituencies in Pune district and one among eight in Pune City. The constituency is also a part of the Pune Lok Sabha constituency along with five other assembly seats which are Parvati, Kasba Peth, Shivajinagar, Pune Cantonment(SC), Vadgaon Sheri.

In 2014, while Kulkarni had polled 1,00,941 votes, her rival got 36, 279 votes leading to a huge victory for the BJP candidate. The winning percentage was 32.77 per cent. The results to the Kothrud Assembly seat are set to be declared on October 24.

In 2009, Mokate had won this seat, defeating Shinde by the margin of 5,414 votes. While Mokate got 52,055 votes, his rival bagged 44,841 votes. Mokate’s winning percentage was 4.66 per cent.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1CBI books Harish Rawat in horse trading case
2UP Byelection Result 2019 Date, Time: First big test for Yogi Adityanath after general elections, counting of votes begins
3Haryana election results 2019: Counting of votes on Thursday, BJP buoyed by exit poll predictions