Aligarh Municipal Corporation Nagar Nigam elections result 2017: Full List of ward-wise winners

By: | Updated: December 1, 2017 5:18 PM

The civic polls in the state are being seen a referendum on the popularity of the Yogi Adityanath government, which came to power in the state in March this year.

aligarh civic body election, uttar pradesh civic body elections, yogi adityanath, uttar pradesh, bjpAligarh Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation) Election Result 2017 is being announced today.

The results of civic polls in the Aligarh Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation) are being announced today. The state had gone to three-phase municipal elections on November 22, 26 and 29. While the first phase saw 52.59 percent turnout, the second and third phase saw 49.3 percent and 53 percent turnout respectively. The total percentage this was 52.5 as against 46.2 in 2012.

The civil polls in the state were being considered as the referendum to the Yogi Adityanath-led BJP Government in the state, which came to power in March this year. So much so, that even state chief minister Yogi Adityanath along with a number of ministers jumped into the campaign in support of their candidates.

The Municipal Corporation of Aligarh is under the jurisdiction of Aligarh district of Uttar Pradesh. As per Nagar Nigam Act 1959, the municipal corporation has been handed over the responsibility to provide public services to the people. According to 74th amendment, there has been increase in responsibilities of municipal bodies.

The counting is on for as many as 16 nagar nigam, 198 nagar palika parishad and 438 nagar panchayats.

In the last municipal elections of 2012, 12 BJP candidates had won mayor posts. After coming to power, the Yogi Adityanath government had constituted two municipal corporations of Ayodhya and Vrindavan-Mathura. The local polls were scheduled to be held during June-July earlier but were postponed as the electoral rolls and other processes could not be completed in time.

Also Read: UP Civic Polls 2017 results LIVE Updates: From Ayodhya to Kashi, BJP passes GST test; leads in 14 seats

The district has been divided into five tehsils, which are Kol Tehsil, Khair Tehsil, Atrauli, Gabhana and Iglas. These tehsils are divided into 12 blocks further. The population of the district has been recorded 1,240,896 as on 2017. Aligarh is situated in the middle of doab, the land between holy rivers of Ganges and Yamuna.

Full list of ward-wise winners to be updated soon


Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition