Names of Parliament panel heads finalised

Written by Political Bureau | New Delhi | Updated: Aug 27 2009, 04:14am hrs
Samajwadi party chief Mulayam Singh, whose friendship with Anil Ambani is well known, is set to head the parliamentary standing committee on energy while BJP deputy leader Sushma Swaraj will chair the committee on finance.

Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar along with leaders of political parties on Tuesday finalised names of chairpersons of all parliamentary standing committees, which is expected to be announced in the next few days. Congress member Jayanti Natarajan is likely to head the panel scrutinising the womens reservation bill, while standing committee on HRD will be headed by Oscar Fernandes.

The standing committee on home affairs will go to M Venkaiah Naidu of the BJP, while transport, tourism and culture will be headed by CPI(M) MP Sitaram Yechury. BSPs Satish Mishra gets to head the panel on industry while Shanta Kumar of the BJP will be chairperson of the committee on commerce.

The Samajwadi Party will also head committee on health with Amar Singh likely to be its chairman once again. The lineup shows that the government has rejected the SPs demand to head the petroleum standing committee.

Uttaranchal MP Satpal Maharaj will be the new head of the standing committee on defence, while coal and steel goes to the Trinamool Congress. The committee on railways goes to the DMK, instead of of the CPI(M) which headed the earlier committee.

Railway minister Mamata Banerjee had reportedly expressed strong reservation over the railway committee chairmanship being given to the CPI(M). The CPIM, instead, gets agriculture and will possibly be headed by senior leader Basudeb Acharya.