Anger brews as Kiran inducts 11 fresh faces

Written by Political Bureau | Hyderabad | Updated: Dec 2 2010, 06:34am hrs
Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy on Wednesday constituted a 39-member council of ministers, introducing 11 new faces and retaining 28 old ones. As expected, YS Jaganmohan Reddys uncle Y S Vivekananda Reddy was inducted.

The CM dropped three Jaganmohan loyalists: former ministers Balineni Srinivasa Reddy, Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose and Silpa Mohan Reddy. Predictably, there was wide discontentment in the party.

Kiran Kumars writ in deciding his team was evident as his rival from native Chittor district, former minister P Ramachandra Reddy, and Gade Venkata Reddy were dropped. Vivekananda Reddy is the lone face from the state Legislative Council.

The CM, who is allowed 44 ministers, has left four berths open anticipating trouble from various factions. Depending on Jaganmohans moves, these berths may be later allotted to rebels threatening to join the Kadapa MP, or, in an extreme case, to the Prajarajyam Party (PRP) if its support is sought. The Cabinet is Telangana-heavy with 16 ministers from the region, followed by 15 ministers from the coastal districts and eight from Rayalaseema.

With the Justice Srikrishna Committee on Telangana expected to submit its report on or before December 31, the presence of 16 ministers from the region has set off speculation on the Centres intentions on a separate state.

Among the 11 new faces, seven are first-timers T G Venkatesh, E Pratap Reddy, Thota Narasimham, Maheendhar Reddy, YS Vivekananda Reddy, Dr Sake Sailajanath, and Basavaraju Saraiah.