Chief ministers, filmstars, senior leaders among BJPs 43 star campaigners in capital

Written by Pragya Kaushika | Pragya Kaushika | New Delhi | Updated: Mar 25 2014, 20:41pm hrs
To ensure that the BJP campaign is star-powered, the party on Monday decided that all its star campaigners would campaign in the national capital, irrespective of campaigns in their own constituencies.

For the same, the party has listed out the names of 43 expected star campaigners this Lok Sabha elections, which include senior leaders such as L K Advani, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and its prime ministerial candidate, Narendra Modi.

Since all those names on the star campaigners list are themselves contesting elections in various parts of the country, the party has asked them to spare a day for the Delhi candidates.

Elections for Sushmajis and Arun Jaitleyjis constituencies will be later (after the elections in Delhi). They can spare some time for the capital in between, a senior leader said.

Other star campaigners for the party include senior leaders Nitin Gadkari, M M Joshi, Vinod Khanna, Smriti Irani, N S Sidhu, Vani Tripathi.

Chief ministers Raman Singh, Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Vasundhara Raje Schindia, Prakash Singh Badal and former chief ministers Prem Kumar Dhumal and B C Khanduri also figure on the list.

All seven contesting from the Lok Sabha constituencies in Delhi LS seats Pravesh Sahib Singh, Ramesh Bidhuri, Harsh Vardhan, Manoj Tiwari, Udit Raj, Maheish Girri and Meenakshi Lekhi will also campaign as as star campaigners.

Modi will be addressing a rally on March 26 at Shastri park in trans Yamuna.

The star campaigners have voiced their concern as all of them are fighting elections themselves. Addressing this issue, the party has drawn an extensive list of the expected campaigners, the senior leader said.

The party will finalise the dates with them soon. Meanwhile, the Delhi candidates are sending in their choices for their favourite campaigners, the leader said.