BJP Bihar dissidents revolt again, boycott committee meet

Written by Mukesh Ranjan | New Delhi, May 16 | Updated: May 18 2008, 05:16am hrs
Failing to abide by the Central leaderships directive to stay calm till the Karnataka polls are over, the BJP dissidents in Bihar have once again raised the banner of revolt. This time, by boycotting a core committee meeting convened on Friday by the state unit president Radha Mohan Singh to discuss upcoming Loka Sabha elections.

Only three of the eight members of the committee attended the meeting, which went into huddle to evaluate respective claims of party probable on its quota of seats, as the party has an alliance with JD(U) in the state. Apart from the state unit chief the other members of the committee include deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi, state unit general secretary (Organisation) Hriday Narayan Singh, former Union minister CP Thakur, ministers in state Ashwini Kumar Chowbey, Nand Kishore Yadav and Gopal Naryan Singh and party stalwart Tara Kant Jha.

Except for Modi and Hridya Narayan, the rest of the members stayed away and the move was to give a credible indication to the party high command that none in the state BJP wants to work under present dispensation, which is led by the deputy chief minister.

Before this meeting Thakur and Jha had, however, been keeping themselves neutral in the ongoing imbroglio. But now it appears that with their skipping the meeting, they have thrown their weight behind the dissidents.

Meanwhile, not happy with Modi camps move to continue with their lobbying exercise with the party high command despite centre-induced truce till the Karnataka elections, the dissidents are once again started re-grouping and have decided to come to national capital on May 23, the day when last phase of polls in the southern state ends.