Sanju Samson replaces injured Shikhar Dhawan for T20 series against West Indies

By: |
Published: November 27, 2019 12:36:15 PM

Kerala player Sanju Samson was dropped from the side without getting a single game in the home series against Bangladesh earlier this month.

Sanju Samson, bcci, india vs west indiesSamson played his sole match for India – a T20 – in July 2015. (File Photo/PTI)

India vs West Indies T20 series: Opener Shikhar Dhawan was on Wednesday ruled out of the T20 International series against the West Indies due to a knee injury, making way for Sanju Samson, who was dropped without getting a chance in the recent series against Bangladesh.

Dhawan suffered a deep cut on his left knee during a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy game against Maharashtra in Surat, the BCCI said in a statement.

“The BCCI Medical Team assessed him on Tuesday to review the healing of his wound. The BCCI Medical Team has suggested that Dhawan needs some more time for his stitches to come off and his wound to heal completely,” the BCCI statement read.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Sanju Samson as Dhawan’s replacement for the T20I series,” it added.

Also Read: ‘Testing his heart’ – Harbhajan Singh tweets in support of Sanju Samson

The T20 series against the West Indies gets underway on December 6 in Hyderabad. The other two matches will be played in Thiruvananthpuram (December 8) and Mumbai (December 11).

Kerala player Samson was dropped from the side without getting a single game in the home series against Bangladesh earlier this month.

Besides, the BCCI said Test wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha underwent a surgery on his right ring finger after sustaining a fracture during the recent Day/Night Test against Bangladesh, which India won by an innings and 46 runs.

“The BCCI Medical Team consulted a hand and wrist specialist and it was suggested that Saha undergoes a surgical fixation of the fracture,” the Board stated.

“Subsequently, he underwent a successful surgery in Mumbai on Tuesday and will soon commence his rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy, Bengaluru,” it added.

India’s squad for three T20Is:

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sanju Samson.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1EPL set to resume after Covid-19 break: Juergen Klopp welcomes ‘massive lift’ for reunited Liverpool squad
2IPL 2020: Steve Smith open to playing IPL if T20 World Cup is postponed
3Virat Kohli-Rohit Sharma ‘defining pair for India’ in modern cricketing era: Kumar Sangakkara