JK Tyre Racing Championship: Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad poised to defend FB02 (Formula BMW) crown

By: |
Greater Noida | Updated: December 13, 2014 7:27:40 PM

Vishnu Prasad of Chennai is on his way to defending the FB02 title (Formula BMW) in the JK Tyre Racing Championship...

Volkswagen Polo R Cup in in the pit lane at the JK Tyre Racing Championship, Greater Noida. (Express Photo)Volkswagen Polo R Cup in the pit lane at the JK Tyre Racing Championship being held at the Buddh International Circuit , Greater Noida. (Express Photo)

JK Tyre Racing Championship got off to an electric start today at the Buddh International Circuit , Greater Noida, despite the cold conditions marked by rain. But that did not stop the drivers from generating enough heat and sound of their own to more than compensate for the missing Sun by pushing their mean machines to their utmost, making for a wonderful atmosphere at the race venue.

Veteran Vishnu Prasad of Chennai showed his class again and is well on his way to defending the FB02 title (Formula BMW) after topping the opening race of the season finale.

Though guest driver Armaan Ebrahim was the first to cross the finishing line, 10 points of the winner were awarded to championship leader Prasad, who finished second ahead of nearest rival Akhil Rabindra.

Rabindra came fourth in the 10-lap race, while Ananth Shanmugam and Sandeep Kumar bagged second and third place.

JK-Tyre-630(Express Photo)

21-year-old Prasad, with 78 points, enjoys an 18-point lead over Rabindra going into the double header tomorrow.

It was a flawless effort from the experienced Ebrahim, who finished ahead of Prasad after starting from the back of the grid.

“It was slippery out there with the drizzle. Armaan went past me on lap four and after that it was a pretty straightforward race. But I am not happy with my pace as I was seventh tenths of a second slower than Armaan. It is a huge gap,” Prasad said, adding the cold conditions made it tough for him to get the tyres up to temperature.

JK-Tyre-1-630(Express Photo)

Most would celebrate after winning the championship but not Prasad, who almost quit racing in frustration of not getting an international breakthrough after toiling on the domestic circuit for close to a decade.

“I quit almost couple of seasons ago but my dad helped me get back on the track. There is little you can do in motorsports without having required funding to race abroad. And I am only talking about doing junior single seaters, not even a major championship. It would be nice if win tomorrow, but I will breathe a lot more easy if I am able to secure a drive outside India next season,” said Prasad, who is pursuing an engineering degree for an alternate career option.

He hopes he has arranged enough money for a drive in China or an Italian F4 stint next year.

“In motorsports, it’s not done until it’s done but I am positive about next year,” said a smiling Prasad, who beat Arjun Maini for the title last year.

Prasad is also set to do a F3 test, something he missed out last year as he was unable to pay for his travel and accommodation.

This weekend, Prasad is juggling between FB02 and Formula LGB 4.

In the JK Formula LGB F4, championship leader, Diljith TS controlled the proceedings in the first race right from the start to the flag to take an unassailable lead in the championship points.

With this win, the Dark Don Racing driver sealed the championship with two races to spare.

JK Racing India Series (FB02) Race 1
1. Vishnu Prasad (21:56:414)
2. Anant Shanmugam (22:06.612)
3. Sandeep Kumar (22:07.967).

Volkswagen Polo R Cup Race 1:
1. Karthik Tharani (23:02:546)
2. Anindith Reddy Konda (23:03.129)
3. Andre Gies (23:05:001)

Race 2:
1. Ameya Bafna (21:54.289)
2. Karthik Tharani (22:00.037)
3. Angad Singh Matharoo (22:02.525).

JK Formula LGB F4 Race 1:
1. Diljith TS (17:15.996)
2. Sudarshan Rao Karwa (17:21:150)
3. Karthik Shankar (17:21. 457).

Race 2:
1. Vishnu Prasad
2. Diljith TS
3. Kartik Shankar.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.