KXIP vs MI Highlights: KL Rahul powers Kings XI Punjab to eight-wicket win over Mumbai Indians

By: |
Updated: March 30, 2019 11:28:00 PM

KXIP vs MI Live Score: Mumbai Indians finish with 176/7.

MI vs KXIP Live Score, MI vs KXIP Live Cricket ScoreMumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab

Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab: K L Rahul played the role of a sheet anchor to perfection as Kings XI Punjab returned to winning ways with a comfortable eight-wicket victory over Mumbai Indians in an IPL encounter in Mohali on Saturday. Rahul remained unbeaten at 71 off 57 balls with KXIP reaching the 177-run target in only 18.4 overs. This was KXIP’s second win in three games while MI lost their second game. The 15th over bowled by Hardik Pandya swung the match decisively in KXIP’s favour with 19 runs coming off it.

Sent into bat, Mumbai Indians scored 176 for seven against Kings XI Punjab in an Indian Premier League match at Mohali on Saturday. Kings XI Punjab captain Ravichandran Ashwin has won the toss and elected to bowl against Mumbai Indians in an Indian Premier League – IPL 2019 – match in Mohali. KXIP have made one change, bringing in Murugan Ashwin in place of Varun Chakravarthy, while Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians squad remains unchanged. Mumbai Indians are high on confidence after their close win over Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore in the last and would look to continue their form. On the other hand, Ashwin’s Kings XI Punjab would like to focus more on the game leaving behind all the controversies surrounding the team.

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Rohit Sharma(c), Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.

Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, Hardus Viljoen, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Andrew Tye.

Over 20:

Mohammed Shami comes back into the attack to bowl the last over. Hardik knocks the 2nd ball to deep mid-wicket for SIX. After taking a couple of runs, Hardik OUT. He holed the 4th ball to deep mid-wicket. Hardik Pandya 31(19). Mayank Markande walks in. A single off the last ball of the over. Over 20, MI: 176-7

Over 19: OUT!

Hardus Viljoen continues. Krunal Pandya slams the first ball for FOUR and plays a cover drive to hit the next delivery for another FOUR. Looking to hit another boundary, Krunal tries to pull it over square leg but doesn’t get enough on it. M Ashwin takes a good catch. OUT. Krunal Pandya c Murugan Ashwin b Viljoen 10(5) [4s-2]. Mitchell McClenaghan comes to the crease. Hardik hits the 4th ball to square of wicket for FOUR. Over 19, MI: 163-3

Over 18: WICKET!

Tye bowls the knuckle ball. Pollard tries to go for a big shot but mistimed it to the deep. Mayank Agarwal takes a fantastic catch right at the edge of the boundary. Pollard c Agarwal b Tye 7 (9). A good comeback from KXIP. They have managed to restrict the run-flow. MI: 154-5

Over 17:

Hardus Viljoen comes back into the attack. Pollard takes a single off the 2nd ball. Hardik Pandya slams the 3rd ball for FOUR. Over 17, MI: 146-4

Over 16:

Andrew Tye comes back into the attack. Hardik slams the 2nd ball for a single. Pollard manages to get a run off 3rd ball. Hardik pulls the 4th ball to backward square leg, gets 2 runs. Tye bowls a low full toss and Hardik takes 2 runs off the last ball. Over 16, MI 137/4

Over 15: WICKET!

Yuvraj Singh goes for a big one. He tries to sweep but manages to get only the top-edge and Mohammed Shami takes an easy catch at deep backward square leg. Yuvraj c Shami b M Ashwin 18 (22). Hardik Pandya is the new man on crease. He slams the first ball he faced for a FOUR and takes 1 run off the last ball. Over 15, Mumbai Indians: 131/4.

Over 14:

KXIP skipper Ravichandran Ashwin into the attack. He starts with two dot. 4 runs off the over. Over 14, MI 124/3

Over 13: WICKET!

de Kock pulls the 5th ball of the over high over deep square leg. SIX. Shami strikes back as Quinton de Kock misses the ball as he gets down on a knee to play a sweep shot but the ball hits on the back thigh. He goes for the review. OUT. de Kock lbw Shami 60 (39). Another big wicket for KXIP as Kieron Pollard walks out to replace de Kock. 10 runs and a wicket off the over. MI 120/3 after 13 overs.

Over 12:

Murugan Ashwin continues in the bowling attack. de Kock slams a powerful shot off the 3rd ball and the ball lands between two fielders in the deep. FOUR. de Kock hits his 7th half century in IPL. Yuvraj ends the over with a single. Over 12, MI: 110/2

Over 11:

Andrew Tye comes back into the attack. Yuvraj slams the 3rd ball of the over extra cover over for FOUR. Yuvraj again hits the final ball of the over straight down the ground for FOUR. And brings up 100 for the Mumbai Indians. Over 11, MI 102/2

Over 10:

Mohammed Shami comes back into the attack. He has given 13 runs off his first over. de Kock pulls the 4th ball of the over for SIX. It’s the first big shot of the match. He hits the next ball towards long-on for 2 runs. Over 10, MI: 91/2

Over 9:

Murugan Ashwin continues. de Kock hits the 2nd and 3rd ball of his over for FOURs. 9 runs off that over. Over 8, MI: 80/2

Over 8:

Ashwin concedes 8 runs off that over. de Kock hits the 3rd ball for FOUR. Over 8, MI: 71/2

Over 7: Mumbai Indians lose Suryakumar Yadav

Murugan Ashwin continues. Suryakumar Yadav fails to play the second ball as it hits the pad. LBW! S Yadav 11 (6) . Yuvraj Singh walks in and slams the 4th ball for a FOUR. Over 7, MI: 64/2

Over 6: 

Viljoen continues into the bowling attack. Rohit Sharma OUT. He walked without taking the review. The ball looked to be in the middle and Rohit would not waste a review. Suryakumar Yadav, right handed bat, is the new man in. He hits the next ball fine leg for FOUR. He takes 3 off the last ball to end the over. Over 6, MI: 62/1

Over 5: 50 comes up for Mumbai Indians:

Right-arm fast medium, Andrew Tye introduced into the attack. de Kock hits a cover drive for FOUR off the second ball. Rohit hits two consecutive FOURs off last two balls. Over 5, MI: 50-0

Over 4:

Hardus Viljoen comes into the attack. 7 runs off that over. Over 4, MI: 31-0

Over 3:

R Ashwin continues. de Kock slog sweeps the 3rd ball to for FOUR and takes a single on the next. R0hit and de Kock take a single off the 5th and the last ball. Over 3, MI: 24-0.

Over 2:

Mohammed Shami comes into the attack. Rohit takes two runs off first ball and hits the 2nd one for FOUR followed by a single. He again slams a boundary on the 5th ball and ends the over with a single. Over 2, MI: 16-0.

Over 1:

Mumbai Indians are off to a good start. Rohit and Quinton de Kock are playing on the crease and KXIP skipper R Ashwin opens the bowling attack. de Kock hits the first four of MI innings. Over 1, MI: 7-0


For latest coverage on Maharashtra Assembly Election 2019 and Haryana Assembly Election 2019, log on to financialexpress.com. We bring you full coverage of Assembly Election 2019 on Financial Express, stay tuned for latest election updates.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.