1. IPL Live Cricket Score, RPS vs KXIP T20 Match Updates, KXIP-164/4: Glenn Maxwell powers Punjab to 6-wicket win on his captaincy debut

IPL Live Cricket Score, RPS vs KXIP T20 Match Updates, KXIP-164/4: Glenn Maxwell powers Punjab to 6-wicket win on his captaincy debut

Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) vs Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Live Cricket Score IPL 2017 T20: Here are the live cricket score and updates from the match.

By: | New Delhi | Updated: April 8, 2017 7:48 PM
On the other hand, Punjab will be led by yet another new captain in Glenn Maxwell. (PTI)

You look back to the last couple of years and you can clearly see that Glenn Maxwell hasn’t fully utilised his talent and potential but it is games like these that make him such a dangerous player. The side was struggling at 83/3 when he walked in to bat and was soon down to 85/4. Any other player would have taken his time and had tried to build a partnership but Maxwell took on the opposition and unleashed a counter-attack.

David Miller was sensible in his approach as well. He had a disappointing season last year as well but must be happy to start this one on a good note. He will play an important role if Punjab has to make it to the play-offs. Pune would be slightly disappointed as they would have liked to build on the momentum.

IPL Live Cricket Score, RPS vs KXIP T20 Match Updates:

7:40 PM: Kings XI Punjab has won the match by 6 wickets.

Glenn Maxwell – 44* (20)

David Miller – 30* (27)

7:10 PM: Glenn Maxwell is running riot at Indore. The Australian players are really setting the stage on fire this season. He has raced his way to 42 runs from just 16 balls.

6:50 PM: This turning out to be a much better run-chase than expected. Punjab has lost 4 wickets but two of their most important batsmen David Miller and Glenn Maxwell are still out there.

6:15 PM: Ashok Dinda had a nightmare of a game a couple of days ago but he has left that behind and struck for Rising Pune Supergiant here. Manan Vohra is out for 14. So many times we have seen him getting a great start only to throw it away and today was no exception.

6:00 PM: We are back live for the chase and chances are that it is going to be an interesting affair. Kings XI Punjab has a very good batting line-up but their temperament will be at question here. Manan Vohra will start the batting alongside Hashim Amla.

READ | IPL 2017: Manan Vohra believes it’s a blessing to bat with Virender Sehwag 

5:45 PM: How many times we have seen a player who was discarded by the franchises at first coming out and changing the fortunes for the team. Chris Gayle did in the past, Imran Tahir gave a glimpse in the previous game and now it’s Manoj Tiwary’s turn. His 50 runs from 23 balls can prove to be the difference between two sides.

You may also want to watch:

5:30 PM: OUT! That’s the end of Ben Stokes but not before scoring his maiden IPL half-century. Great knock by the English all-rounder who was the highest paid player this season. Daniel Christian is the new man in.

5:15 PM: Ben Stokes is doing a great job for Rising Pune Supergiant. He is proving his worth and that’s what IPL is all about. Manoj Tiwary has raced his way to 23 runs from 13 balls as well.

4:45 PM: Kings XI Punjab has taken giant strides in last few overs. Both the performers from the last game, Ajinkya Rahane and Steve Smith are back in the hut. MS Dhoni and Ben Stokes are at the crease right now but one of them will have to stay in till the end.

4:20 PM: It has been a completely opposite start for the Rising Pune Supergiant. Mayank Agarwal got out for a duck and since then both Ajinkya Rahane and Steve Smith have found it tough to score runs.

3:55 PM: Some strange choices as far as the team selection is considered. There is no place for the England captain Eoin Morgan while Pune has played Dan Christian in place of Adam Zampa.

3:38 PM: Here are the playing XIs:

Kings XI Punjab: Hashim Amla, Manan Vohra, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Glenn Maxwell(c), David Miller, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Swapnil Singh, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

Rising Pune Supergiant: Ajinkya Rahane, Mayank Agarwal, Steven Smith(c), Ben Stokes, MS Dhoni(w), Manoj Tiwary, Daniel Christian, Rajat Bhatia, Rahul Chahar, Imran Tahir, Ashok Dinda

3:30 PM: Glenn Maxwell wins the toss, opts to bowl first. Steve Smith says he would have done the same. No surprise there as most teams like to chase in this format.

3:15 PM: Talking about the teams, even though Pune won their opening match, they have a lot of problems in the bowling department, Ashok Dinda had a nightmare game two days ago and ideally should be dropped but what are the options? Jaydev Unadkat is the only big name and the team management might be tempted to play Daniel Christain or Lockie Ferguson in place of a spinner.

On the other hand, Punjab will be led by yet another new captain in Glenn Maxwell. He didn’t have a very good season with the bat last year and was dropped so there will be added pressure on Maxwell. Manan Vohra will have a bigger role to play in the side in the absence of Murali Vijay. With the inclusion of Ishant Sharma and Varun Aaron, the bowling unit looks better too.

2:50 PM: A major task for the Punjab team will be to finalise their four overseas players. Going by the big-hitting capabilities, they should be Martin Guptill, Eoin Morgan, Glenn Maxwell and David Miller but it won’t be easy to keep Hashim Amla out of the side.

2:30 PM: Here is what coach Mithun Manhas has to say:

Playing Conditions: All the tickets are sold for the game and fans can expect yet another high scoring encounter. For big hitters like Martin Guptill, Eoin Morgan, MS Dhoni and Glenn Maxwell, it should not be tough to clear the shorter boundaries. The team winning the toss would prefer to bowl first


Rising Pune Supergiant: Steve Smith (captain), MS Dhoni, Mayank Agarwal, Baba Aparajith, Ankush Bains, Ankit Sharma, Rajat Bhatia, Deepak Chahar, Daniel Christian, Rahul Chahar, Ashok Dinda, Faf du Plessis, Lockie Ferguson. Usman Khawaja, Jaskaran Singh, Saurabh Kumar, Ben Stokes, Milind Tondon, Manoj Tiwary, Jaydev Unadkat, Adam Zampa, Imran Tahir

Kings XI Punjab: Glenn Maxwell (captain), Eoin Morgan, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Matt Henry, Varun Aaron, Martin Guptill, Darren Sammy, Rinku Singh, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Axar Patel, Gurkeerat Singh, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Shaun Marsh, Wriddhiman Saha, M Vijay, Nikhil Naik, Mohit Sharma, Marcus Stoinis, KC Cariappa, Armaan Jaffer, Pardeep Sahu, Swapnil Singh, Hashim Amla, Ishant Sharma

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Go to Top