Highlights Cricket Score India vs Sri Lanka 2017 T20: Rohit Sharma and men beat Islanders by 93 runs

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: December 20, 2017 10:21:47 PM

India vs Sri Lanka 2017 T20 : As India and Sri Lanka crossed swords against each other, Rohit Sharma joined the 1500 runs club along with Indian skipper Virat Kohli.

India vs Sri Lanka 2017 t20: Rohit Sharma to captain Men in Blue for the first time.

India vs Sri Lanka 2017 T20: As India and Sri Lanka crossed swords against each other, Rohit Sharma joined the 1500 runs club along with Indian skipper Virat Kohli. However, his moment of happiness did not live for long as he fell prey Angelo Mathews. Meanwhile, the man in form was KL Rahul who scored his second T20 half-century. In the absence of Indian skipper Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma will lead Men in Blue for the three-match series. The Indian cricket team have had great success in the bilateral series of recent past, remaining unbeaten since 2015. Be it Test, ODI, or T20I series, Virat Kohli and men have excelled in all three formats. However, it will be the first time Rohit will be leading the Indian side in a T20 series and would like to make an impact. Rohit Sharma had a great time as skipper and led India to a 2-1 in the ODI series. He had an outstanding series with the bat as well and scored his 3rd ODI double century in Mohali. On the other hand, Sri Lanka who had a horrific season would search for some comfort by winning the T20 series. The last time India played a T20I in Cuttack, they were bowled out for 92 by South Africa.

India vs Sri Lanka: When and where to watch live online, TV Coverage

Here are India vs Sri Lanka Cricket Score Updates 1st T20:

8:39 PM: Men in Blue post target of 181.

8:35 PM: These are extremely difficult fielding conditions. Where will India hide the weaker fielders like Kuldeep, Unadkat & Bumrah, I wonder?

8;25 PM: Dhoni goes, rogue, he is firing shots all round the Barabati stadium.

8:16 PM: Th way India is is playing, I am getting the impression this isn’t the easiest surface to produce big hits. Still, India will need 180+ given the dew around

8:10 PM: NLTC Perera to Rahul, OUT, bowls him! Beautiful wicket. He knows India are desperate for quick runs. So he denies them pace. Rahul, earlier in the innings, when he wasn’t panicking about his rate of scoring was picking those out of the hand. This time he slogs across the line, loses his shape and then his middle stump.

7:55 PM: Pradeep to Rahul, 1 run, shifts back in his crease, dabs the shortish ball on leg stump by his feet and races across for the single that brings his fifty. Splendid innings. Very few wasted shots.

7:53 PM: KL Rahul gets a move on… finally. Gets two fours off Thisara Perera at a time when India need a forward push.

7:42 PM:I would like to know what percentage of game Manish Pandey have played but not batted. Seems unlikely that he will bat today with Dhoni coming before him.

7:31 PM: As a fun fact for everyone, in the only T20I played here on October 5, 2015, India collapsed to 92 all out as South Africa won the game. But in an ODI exactly 11 months ago, India and England aggregated more than 700 runs, with Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh’s centuries helping the team to a narrow win after it notched up a mammoth 381 for six.

7:28 PM: Mathews to Sharma, OUT, well taken at mid-on! This is a mistimed hoick from Rohit, the ball, which is on a length and a wicket-to-wicket line, hits him high on the bat and therefore does not allow him the power he is looking for. Chameera runs forward, dives and clings onto the low chance with both hands.

7:15 PM: With 15 runs to his bag, Rohit Sharma becomes the second batsmen to make 1500 runs in T20 format after Virat Kohli.

7:04 PM: Fernando to Sharma, FOUR, that’s better! Races away through the covers, with Rohit’s trademark timing. Brings down a straight bat, angles the face at the moment of impact and the half-volley screams away.

6:27 PM: The pitch report: Very good to bat on; there are some cracks which might indicate the ball might not come onto the bat. Teams should be looking for totals around 150. There is expected to be heavy dew as well.

5: 30 PM: Team India practising at the nets.


5: 15 PM: Hello and welcome to India vs Sri Lanka first T20. The match will be played at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack.

Here are squads for India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20:

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera(c), Dasun Shanaka, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Vishwa Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni(w), Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1IPL 2018 auction date announced, see when will the teams retain and buy players
2Revealed! 1st thing that Ravi Shastri told Virat Kohli & Co after he resumed head coach job for 2nd time
3India vs Sri Lanka 2017 LIVE Streaming 1st T20, Cuttack: When and where to watch Ind vs SL live online, TV Coverage