India beat South Africa by an innings and 202 runs to complete 3-0 Whitewash

By: |
Updated: Oct 22, 2019 10:53 AM

This was Virat Kohli’s 11th series win as captain and the first clean sweep over the Proteas who were no match for the hosts. This was India’s 11th successive series triumph on home soil.

South Africa were all out for 162 in the first innings after India declared at 497 for 9 in their first essay. (BCCI)

Ranchi: A formidable Indian team ticked all the boxes with ease as it completed a 3-0 rout of an out-of-sorts South Africa with an innings and 202 runs victory in the third and final Test here on Tuesday. With another 120 points in the ongoing World Test Championship, India now sit pretty on top of the table with 240 points as the formalities were completed within the first two overs of the fourth day.

This was Virat Kohli’s 11th series win as captain and the first clean sweep over the Proteas who were no match for the hosts. This was India’s 11th successive series triumph on home soil.

The scoreline was not only an indicator of India’s absolute dominance but also the decline in standard of South African cricket as the visitors couldn’t handle the might of India’s batting and the fiery pace attack led by Mohammed Shami (13 wickets in the series).

Debutant left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem (2/18 in 6 overs) wrapped it up in the second over of the day as South Africa were all out for 133 in their second innings, 30 runs short of their dismal first innings score of 162.

This was India’s sixth clean sweep at home in a three-Test series and the side didn’t put a foot wrong during the three-match series, winning the first Test by 203 runs and the second one by an innings and 137 runs.

If Rohit Sharma’s coming of age in his new role as an opener with 529 runs, turned out to be a masterstroke in home conditions, Mayank Agarwal also consolidated his place in the side with a double century and a ton, easing India’s long time opening woes.

“I was very happy to make my debut in Australia and make little contributions to the team. It’s hard work over a period of many areas,” Agarwal said after the match.

However, what stood out during the series was how lethal the Indian pace attack looked despite their premier pacer Jasprit Bumrah’s absence due to a stress fracture.

Rarely has there been a series where the impact of pacers has been as much as the spinners.

If Ravindra Jadeja (13 wickets) and Ravichandran Ashwin (15 wickets) shared 28 among themselves, Mohammed Shami (13 in 3 Tests), Umesh Yadav (11 in two Tests) and Ishant Sharma (2 in 2 Tests) picked 26 wickets.

“We are always ready to fulfill our responsibility. As a captain, Virat gives you confidence, lets you do what you want. We try to keep the ball in the right areas and bowl the right length,” Shami said at the end of match.

“Fitness matters a lot, the atmosphere in the team is such that we are focussed on fitness. The Indian team has become a unit which enjoys each other’s success and that helps our confidence. As fast bowlers, we have gone up a rung,” said the senior speedster.

It was one such series, where South African batsmen looked scared and scarred by the ferocity of India’s pace attack. The pacers did a lot of damage with the new ball and reversed the old ball.

Two hundreds and four fifties is all that the South African batting line-up managed and South African skipper Faf du Plessis agreed that they were completely outplayed on sporting tracks unlike the ones in 2015 where the ball was turning square.

“They were ruthless and they were better than us in every department – spin bowling, fast bowling, batting and even the fielding. They are a difficult team to overcome,” Du Plessis agreed.

Pleased as punch, skipper Kohli couldn’t agree more with his opposite number.

“You guys have seen how we’re playing. Making things happen on pitches that don’t seem to offer too much, is something we’re very proud of,” Kohli summed it up aptly

India vs South Africa Scorecard

Brief Scores: India 497/9 decl. South Africa 162 and 132 all-out. India win by an innings and 202 runs

India 1st innings

Mayank Agarwal c Dean Elgar b Kagiso Rabada 10
Rohit Sharma c Lungi Ngidi b Kagiso Rabada 212
Cheteshwar Pujara lbw Kagiso Rabada 0
Virat Kohli lbw Anrich Nortje 12
Ajinkya Rahane c Heinrich Klaasen b George Linde 115
Ravindra Jadeja c Heinrich Klaasen b George Linde 51
Wriddhiman Saha b George Linde 24
Ravichandran Ashwin st Heinrich Klaasen b Dane Piedt 14
Umesh Yadav c Heinrich Klaasen b George Linde 31
Shahbaz Nadeem Not Out 1
Mohammed Shami Not Out 10
Extras 10b 6lb 1nb 0pen 0w 17
Total (116.3 overs) 497 decl
Fall of Wickets : 1-12 Agarwal, 2-16 Pujara, 3-39 Kohli, 4-306 Rahane, 5-370 Sharma, 6-417 Saha, 7-450 Jadeja, 8-464 Ashwin, 9-482 Yadav

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex
Kagiso Rabada 23 7 85 3 3.70 1nb
Lungi Ngidi 20 5 83 0 4.15
Anrich Nortje 24.3 5 79 1 3.22
George Linde 31 2 133 4 4.29
Dane Piedt 18 3 101 1 5.61

South Africa 1st innings

Dean Elgar c Wriddhiman Saha b Mohammed Shami 0
Quinton de Kock c Wriddhiman Saha b Umesh Yadav 4
Zubayr Hamza b Ravindra Jadeja 62
Faf du Plessis b Umesh Yadav 1
Temba Bavuma st Wriddhiman Saha b Shahbaz Nadeem 32
Heinrich Klaasen b Ravindra Jadeja 6
George Linde c Rohit Sharma b Umesh Yadav 37
Dane Piedt lbw Mohammed Shami 4
Kagiso Rabada Run Out Umesh Yadav 0
Anrich Nortje lbw Shahbaz Nadeem 4
Lungi Ngidi Not Out 0
Extras 8b 3lb 1nb 0pen 0w 12
Total (56.2 overs) 162 all out
Fall of Wickets : 1-4 Elgar, 2-8 de Kock, 3-16 du Plessis, 4-107 Hamza, 5-107 Bavuma, 6-119 Klaasen, 7-129 Piedt, 8-130 Rabada, 9-162 Linde, 10-162 Nortje

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex
Mohammed Shami 10 4 22 2 2.20
Umesh Yadav 9 1 40 3 4.44
Shahbaz Nadeem 11.2 4 22 2 1.94 1nb
Ravindra Jadeja 14 3 19 2 1.36
Ravichandran Ashwin 12 1 48 0 4.00

South Africa 2nd innings

Quinton de Kock b Umesh Yadav 5
Dean Elgar Retired Hurt 16
Zubayr Hamza b Mohammed Shami 0
Faf du Plessis lbw Mohammed Shami 4
Temba Bavuma c Wriddhiman Saha b Mohammed Shami 0
Heinrich Klaasen lbw Umesh Yadav 5
George Linde Run Out Shahbaz Nadeem 27
Dane Piedt b Ravindra Jadeja 23
Theunis de Bruyn c Wriddhiman Saha b Shahbaz Nadeem 30
Kagiso Rabada c Ravindra Jadeja b Ravichandran Ashwin 12
Anrich Nortje Not Out 5
Lungi Ngidi c&b Shahbaz Nadeem 0
Extras 5b 1lb 0nb 0pen 0w 6
Total (48.0 overs) 133 all out
Fall of Wickets : 1-5 de Kock, 2-10 Hamza, 3-18 du Plessis, 4-22 Bavuma, 5-36 Klaasen, 6-67 Linde, 7-98 Piedt, 8-121 Rabada, 9-133 de Bruyn, 10-133 Ngidi

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex
Mohammed Shami 10 6 10 3 1.00
Umesh Yadav 9 1 35 2 3.89
Ravindra Jadeja 13 5 36 1 2.77
Shahbaz Nadeem 6 1 18 2 3.00
Ravichandran Ashwin 10 3 28 1 2.80

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1UEFA Champions League draw: 5 former winners in same half; Ronaldo-Messi showdown possible in semifinals
2Asia Cup postponed due to COVID-19 pandemic till June 2021; no news on IPL yet
3IPL in New Zealand? Here’s what New Zealand Cricket said