Asia Cup 2018 schedule, date and time, format, squads, india team, match list, fixtures: All you need to know

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: September 15, 2018 4:18:16 PM

Asia Cup 2018 date and time, schedule, format, match list, squads, fixtures: The tournament will see the participation of six nations - India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong. Here is all you need to know.

Asia cup 2018, Asia cup 2018 date and time, Asia cup 2018 schedule, Asia cup 2018 fixtures, Asia cup 2018 teams, Asia cup 2018 squads, Asia cup 2018 format, Asia cup 2018 match list, Asia cup 2018 venue, when is Asia cup 2018, Asia cup 2018 live telecast, Asia cup 2018 newsAsia Cup 2018 will be played between six nations over the next two weeks.

Asia Cup 2018 date and time, schedule, format, match list, squads, fixtures: The Asian giants are set to take on each other in a two-week cricketing fest in the UAE, starting this Saturday. A Virat Kohli-less Indian cricket team would look at this as an opportunity to leave behind the ghosts of England tour and start their preparations for next year’s ODI World Cup. After serving as a dress rehearsal for the 2016 T20 World Cup, Asia Cup is back in its original 50-over format. The multi-team tournament will see the cricketing nations from Asia battle out to win the title. The tournament will see the participation of six nations – India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong.

While the fans can expect a number of mouth-watering clashes in the tournament, one fixture that stands out from the lot is the high-pressure, India vs Pakistan game to be played on September 19 – Wednesday. The arch-rivals will face each other for the first time since the Champions Trophy final in England last year where Pakistan had defeated a strong Indian side to win the tournament.

WATCH | Asia Cup 2018 LIVE Streaming Online

In Virat Kohli’s absence, Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian cricket team which still looks like the strongest side on paper. The tournament will provide a chance to many Indian players like Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik and Manish Pandey to cement their place in the playing XI ahead of next year’s ICC World Cup. The selectors and fans would also watch 37-year-old MS Dhoni closely who drew flak for his slow innings during India’s 1-2 loss in the ODI series in England.

Asia Cup 2018: Here is all you need to know

Asia Cup 2018 date and time

The tournament will start on September 15. In the opening match of the tournament, Sri Lanka will take on Bangladesh at the Dubai International Stadium. India will start its campaign against Hong Kong on September 18 at the same venue. The final of the tournament will be played on September 28. All the matches will start at 5:00 PM IST.

Asia Cup 2018 format

The six teams have been divided into two groups. Group A consists of India, Pakistan and Hong Kong while Group B includes Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Top two teams from each group will enter the Super Four stage of the tournament. The top two teams in the Super Four section will advance to the final.

Asia Cup 2018 fixtures, schedule and match list

Group Stage
15 September: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Dubai)
16 September: Pakistan vs Hong Kong (Dubai)
17 September: Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)
18 September: India vs Hong Kong (Dubai)
19 September: India vs Pakistan (Dubai)
20 September: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Super Four
21 September: Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Dubai)
21 September: Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)
23 September: Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Dubai)
23 September: Group B Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)
25 September: Group A Winner vs Group B Winner (Dubai)
26 September: Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

28 September: Asia Cup 2018 Final (Dubai)

Asia Cup 2018 squads

India squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC) , KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed.

Pakistan Squad: Fakhar Zaman, Imam Ul Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Usman Shinwari, Shaheen Afridi

Sri Lanka Squad: Angelo Mathews(c), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Dilruwan Perera, Amila Aponso, Kasun Rajitha, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Malinga

Afghanistan Squad: Asghar Afghan (c), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Ihsanullah Janat, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Hashmat Shahidi, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Najibullah Zadran, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Aftab Alam, Samiullah Shinwari, Munir Ahmad Kakar (wk), Sayed Ahmad Sherzad, Sharafudin Ashraf, Wafadar

Hong Kong Squad: Anshuman Rath(c), Aizaz Khan, Babar Hayat, Cameron McAulsan, Christopher Carter, Ehsan Khan, Ehsan Nawaz, Arshad Mohammad, Kinchit Shah, Nadeem Ahmed, Raag Kapur, Scott McKechnie, Tanveer Ahmed, Tanwir Afzal, Waqas Khan, Aftab Hussain

Bangladesh Squad: Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque

India are the most successful team in the Asia Cup, having won six of the 13 editions of the tournament, including the only time it was played in the Twenty20 format, in 2016, making them the defending champions.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.