PIN Codes – Holy grail of postal logistics and services, know how to identify massive location network

A PIN or Postal Index Number also called a PIN code is a six-digit number code used by India Post (the Indian Postal System) to segregate mail and couriers, making delivery more efficient. Each PIN is assigned to a single delivery post office, which receives all mail for distribution to the various offices under its jurisdiction. A postal administration which includes the PIN code system is followed in various nations across the world – it is a universal way of sorting out mail and delivery for many countries and has different names – ZIP codes, postal codes, etc. There are 28 states in India, with at least 720 districts, approximately 6 lakh villages, and over 8200 cities and towns. You can find out the PIN codes for them here on this page.

Significance of the digits in the PIN code

Every digit in the six-digit number holds a specific meaning. The first digit designates the overall geographical region, with the first two designating the postal circle or sub-region. The third digit represents the sorting district. Therefore, the first three digits represent the postal district as a whole, while the last three digits represent the specific post office within the district.

Postal Zones in India

The Indian Postal Service has designated nine specific PIN regions across the country, eight of which are geographical regions and one is reserved for the Indian Army, called the functional zone. These zones are:

First Digit of Pincode Zone
1 Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh
2 Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh
3 Gujarat, Rajasthan, Diu and Daman, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh
5 Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
6 Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Lakshadweep, Puducherry
7 Odisha, West Bengal, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Assam, Sikkim, Andaman & Nicobar Islands
8 Jharkhand, Bihar
9 Army Post Office (APO), Field Post Office (FPO)

Postal Services in India

The India Post is spread over 1,55,000 branches across India. It is able to cover around 89 per cent of all rural areas. India is divided into 22 postal circles, each led by a Chief Postmaster General. Furthermore, each of these postal circles is subdivided into regions that are overseen by a Postmaster General, and the regions are further subdivided into divisions, which are further subdivided into subdivisions. In rural areas, the Department of Post serves as a vital link between villages and cities. In addition to mail services, they offer banking services to the rural population, as some of these areas still lack a proper banking facility. The following is the list of postal services provided under India Post: Financial Services: National Savings Certificates (NSC), Kisan Vikas Patra (KSV), and Public Provident Fund (PPF) are some of the services that the post office provides. Further, similar to a banking institution, it allows people to deposit money and provide them schemes related to their monthly income, money order facility, deposit facility in the form of savings bank account, recurring deposit account, and fixed deposit account. Mail Facilities: India Post provides mail services and assists people in sending mail from one location to another. This service includes mail sending, mail registration as security proof, and mail insurance to cover potential risks. Allied Postal Services: These include Direct Post, Speed Post, Media Post, International Money Transfer, Passport facilities, etc.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

It was introduced on August 15, 1972, by Shriram Bhikaji, the erstwhile Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Communications.