Govt of India launches E-Visa enabled with ETA for 43 countries

By: |
November 28, 2014 10:00 AM

The facility will be available at nine international airports in the country

Union home minister Rajnath Singh, along with Dr. Mahesh Sharma, minister of state (I/C), tourism and culture and minister of state for civil aviation launched the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVoA) enabled with Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) Scheme at Hotel The Ashok, Delhi.

The facility will be available at nine international airports in the country namely Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi and Goa. The TVoA enabled with ETA Scheme will facilitate nationals of 43 countries including Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kingdom of Tongo, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Papua & New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Kiribati, Republic of Korea (i.e. South Korea), Republic of Marshall Islands, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Palau, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam and Vanuatu.

Dr. Sharma, in his address talked about the positive impact the country will have in boosting international tourist arrival with this visa facilitation. And said this is a landmark decision of the new Government under the leadership of Prime Minister to overcome the challenges of visa issues often raised by overseas tour operators. With Prime Minister himself promoting tourism during his overseas visits and stable Government at the Center and Home Minister Raj Nath ji coming to launch this unique visa relations programme shows the importance is accorded to tourism in national economic development.

Launching the facility, the union home minister said that India has a unique advantage in tourism sector owing to its geographical location and that no other country offers such abundance of diversity in weather conditions. He also assured that his Ministry would ensure a safe and secure environment for visiting foreign tourists.

Subhash Goyal, president, Indian Association of Tour Operators (IATO) said, “For the last twenty years, IATO had been pleading with the Govt. for introduction of Visa-on-Arrival as also Electronic Visa Facilitation”. Goyal expressed his sincere gratitude and thanks on behalf of the entire tourism industry to Raj Nath Singh and Dr. Mahesh Sharma and assured the Government that when E-Visa is implemented in full swing from all the tourism generating countries, tourism to India will grow by at least 50 -100 per cent in the next two-three years.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1UK’s PM Boris Johnson: G7 pledge 1 billion vaccine doses to poorer nations
2AstraZeneca shots should be halted for over-60s – EMA official
3G7 leaders discuss Wuhan lab leak theory behind COVID-19 pandemic