WhatsApp has finally rolled out its recall message feature called ‘delete for everyone’. The new WhatsApp feature reminds us of the famous quote by W Somerset Maugham which goes like: “It’s no use crying over spilt milk.” While we can never take back our words once spoken, WhatsApp now lets you recall or revoke sent messages. The feature went live on Saturday for most users, and now it is available for everyone. The new WhatsApp functionality has come as fresh news for over a billion active users on the messaging portal. The Facebook-owned app essentially lets users recall a sent message within seven minutes of sending it. But is it as good as it sounds? We will find out.
What is WhatsApp delete for everyone and how does it work? The Delete for Everyone is a functionality on WhatsApp which lets you delete all kinds of messages even after sending them. The option is available in the delete icon at the top of the screen. The delete button looks like a dustbin and if you wish to use it, you need to tap it and long press the message you wish to delete. Once the message is removed, the receiver gets the prompt which says ‘the message was deleted’. It should be noted that the WhatsApp feature enables users to recall the feature within 7 minutes, after which it will not be possible.
The new WhatsApp delete for everyone feature will be useful for people who would send either a wrong text or texted a wrong person. The feature also includes GIFs, pictures, videos and more options. This feature will save you a lot of embarrassment but you need to keep these things in mind:
1. The feature will work only if WhatsApp is updated on both (sender’s and receiver’s) phone. If either of them is using an old version of WhatsApp, the delete for everyone feature will not work.
2. The WhatsApp messages get sent in real time if the internet is active on all devices. Many smartphones also get notifications for the messages. So, chances are high that even if you delete the message, a person might have already read it.
3. It is not possible to delete a message after the receiver reads it. Which also means that if both the sender and receiver are chatting in real time, the messages get read immediately and hence cannot get deleted.
4. Currently, the sender does not get a notification on whether the message was deleted or not. This means that you may think the text got deleted while it might not have been for some reason.
5. Notably, the proof that you delete a message stays even if you remove it. When a user deletes a message that he/she has texted, the text gets replaced by “This message was deleted for everyone”.