Big Brother is watching Big Brother watching you. Facebook, often under fire over privacy concerns, is hoping to make up, reports fe Bureau in New Delhi. The social media giant will now inform users if it feels they are being snooped upon.
In a post, Facebook chief security officer Alex Stamos said: “The security of people’s accounts is paramount at Facebook, which is why we constantly monitor for potentially malicious activity and offer many options to… secure your account. Starting today, we will notify you if we believe your account has been targeted or compromised by an attacker suspected of working on behalf of a nation-state.”
In a screenshot of a demo notification, the company says the user has to turn on login approvals. If the account is accessed from a new device or browser, Facebook will send a code to the user’s phone, so that only the user can long in.
Stamos added that “we often won’t be able to explain how we attribute certain attacks to suspected attackers”, and that “we plan to use this warning only in situations where the evidence strongly supports our conclusion”.