Singur assembly election results 2021 Live: TMC retains its bastion, Becharam Manna defeats BJP’s Rabindranath Bhattacharya

By: |
Updated: May 02, 2021 3:58 PM

West Bengal Singur Election Results 2021 Live, West Bengal Singur Vidhan Sabha Election Results Live updates: TMC candidate Becharam Manna has registered victory in the election.

"The newly-elected members will take oath in the Assembly from May 6," Chatterjee told reporters at the party headquarters here after the meeting of the legislators."The newly-elected members will take oath in the Assembly from May 6," Chatterjee told reporters at the party headquarters here after the meeting of the legislators.

Singur West Bengal Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Election Results 2021 Live: The counting of votes for the Singur assembly seat has been completed. As per reports, TMC candidate Becharam Manna has won the seat by more than 25,500 votes. He defeated BJP’s Rabindranath Bhattacharjee in the election.

Singur is one of the strongholds of Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress. Singur was the second place where Mamata launched a successful movement against the Left government’s land acquisition for Tata Nano factory. Farmers resisted the land acquisition by the then Left government for the car plant. Mamata stepped in and made it a movement, a successful one. The Left government was forced to backtrack, Tata shifted to Gujarat. After Nandigram, Singur was the second biggest success for Mamata Banerjee. These two movements — Nandigram and Singur —  propelled Mamata to power in 2011, when the TMC ended the 34-year uninterrupted rule of the Left government in Bengal.

Since 1969, the Left has won this seat seven times. The Trinamool Congress wrested this constituency from the Left for the first time in 2001. Since then, TMC’s Rabindranath Bhattacharjee has been representing this seat in the Assembly. Bhattacharjee has won from here four times — 2001, 2006, 2011 and 2016. However, in this election, Bhattacharjee is contesting from Singur as BJP nominee. He left the TMC and joined the saffron party just months before the election.

In 2016, Bhattacharjee, then TMC leader, had got 50 per cent vote share while the BJP could secure just 7.40 per cent votes. This time, Bhattacharjee is up against Becharam Manna of TMC and Srijon Bhattacharjee of CPI-M. Singur is an assembly constituency in Hooghly district. It falls under the Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency, currently held by BJP. In the 2019 Lok Sabha election, BJP’s Locket Chatterjee bagged this seat by defeating TMC’s Ratna De.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1SC orders release of prisoners to decongest jails amid COVID-19 second wave
2Avoid over-reliance on foreign drugs in COVID-19 treatment: HC
3Humanitarian grounds: Supreme Court firm on oxygen supply to Karnataka