West Bengal Noapara by-election: Who is Sunil Singh, TMC candidate who thrashed BJP, CPI(M)

By: |
New Delhi | Published: February 1, 2018 12:37:15 PM

West Bengal Noapara by-election: Mamata Banerjee led TMC crushed opponents in the Noapara by-elections by a huge margin. Party's candidate secured a victory within less than three hours of vote-count. BJP's Sandip Banerjee became the runner up while CPIM's Gargi Chaterjee secured the third spot.

West Bengal Noapara by-election: TMC's Sunil Singh crushed BJP and CPI(M)West Bengal Noapara by-election: TMC’s Sunil Singh crushed BJP and CPI(M)

West Bengal Noapara by-election: It was no less than a cake-walk for Trinamool Congress leader Sunil Singh. Clinching the Noapara seat took the leader no more than three hours. Since the very start of the vote count, Sunil Singh left his opponents far behind. Trinamool candidate Sunil Singh clinched the Noapara seat with a lead of 63,018 votes. The vote tally of TMC stood at 1,11,729 while the BJP’s vote count was at 38,711 votes. The CPI(M) bagged 35,497 votes, while the Congress was at fourth place with 10,527 votes. BJP’s Sandip Banerjee became the runner up while CPIM’s Gargi Chaterjee secured the third spot.

Congress’s Goutam Bose got left behind at the fourth spot. The by-election on the Noapara seat was necessitated by the death of Congress MLA from Noapara Assembly constituency, Madhusudan Ghose.

Sunil Singh is brother-in-law of Bhatpara MLA Arjun Singh, who is a TMC MLA from Bhatpara in North 24 Parganas district.The Noapara constituency saw a voter tun out of 75.3 per cent in the bypolls. In 2016 Assembly Elections, Noapara constituency seat was won by the Congress but now, the TMC has taken a front seat with Sunil Singh’s win.

Meanwhile, the TMC is making its way towards victory on the Ulberia seat as well. TMC’s candidate for the seat Sajda Sultan Ahmad, the widow of TMC leader and MP from Uluberia seat Sultan Ahmad is leading her opponents by a substantial margin.

The by-elctions were held on Monday (January 29).

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Who was Kamala Das! The writer honoured by Google Doodle
2Tamil Nadu saw 157 cases of custodial deaths from 2012-16: Government to Madras HC
3Judge Loya death case: Congress raise more questions