Nandigram election results 2021: BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari beats West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee by 1,956 votes

Nandigram Election Results, Mamata Banerjee Election Results Updates: TMC demanded a recount of votes in Nandigram constituency.

Nandigram Assembly Election Results 2021, West Bengal Nandigram Election Results 2021
Suvendu Adhikari vs Mamata Banerjee in Nandigram

Nandigram Election Results 2021, Mamata Banerjee Election Seat, Results Coverage: In a surreal end to a vitriolic campaign and a contest that was balanced on the knife-edge till the very last EVM was counted BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari defeated West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee by 1,956 votes in Nandigram.

Mamata Banerjee is trailing again from Nandigram. Earlier, she was declared winner from Nandigram but later it was announced that she had lost to Adhikari. So far, the EC has not announced the results yet. Earlier in the day, when the counting started, BJP’s Adhikari was leading in the seat by more than 8000 votes. But Banerjee closed the gap as the counting progressed. For some time, she was ahead of Suvendu but now trailing in what is considered the stomping ground of Adhikari. Nandigram was the biggest battleground where sitting chief minister Mamata Banerjee challenged her former cabinet colleague and now BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari.

Also Read | West Bengal Election Results 2021 LIVE

LIVE Updates –

11.33 pm: BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari beats Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee by 1,956 votes in Nandigram: EC

11.30 pm: Election Commission website officially names Suvendu Adhikari as the winner from Nandigram.

11.10 pm: At the end of Round 17*, the official Election Commission tally show that BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari has polled 1,09,673 votes, as compared to 1,07,937 bagged by TMC’s Mamata Banerjee.


10:43 pm -Trinamool Congress demands recount of votes in Nandigram constituency from where CM Mamata Banerjee had contested, alleging illegalities in vote counting process.

7:54 pm – Suvendu Adhikari tweets: “My sincere thanks to the great People of Nandigram for their love, trust, blessings, and support, and for choosing me as their representative and the MLA from #Nandigram. It is my never-ending commitment to be of service to them and working for their welfare. I am truly grateful!”

7:10 pm – The counting process for Nandigram has not been completed. Please do not speculate: TMC

7:00 – EC yet to announce Nandigram results

6:43 – Mamata Banerjee says, “Don’t worry about Nandigram, I struggled for Nandigram because I fought a movement. It’s ok. Let the Nandigram people give whatever verdict they want, I accept that. I don’t mind. We won more than 221 seats and BJP has lost the election.”

6:40 – Mamata says Election Commission retracted after declaring her winner from Nandigram

6:30 – Mamata concedes defeat in Nandigram

6:15 – Suvendu Adhikari wins Nandigram, defeats Mamata Banerjee

04:33- Mamata wins

04:30: Mamata is ahead of Adhikari now.

04:00: Mamata Banerjee is now leading by more than 4,000 votes.

03:30: Mamata again leading by more than 8,000 votes.

02:50: Former UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav congratulated Mamata Banerjee for TMC’s performance in Bengal.

02:30: Suvendu Adhikari leading now again.

02:15: Election Commission orders registration of FIR over celebratory congregations in anticipation of poll victory.

02:00: Mamata Banerjee is still leading.

01:45: Clear edge for TMC Supremo Mamata Banerjee to form govt in state for consecutively three times.

01:20: Celebration underway in Kolkata by TMC supporters after party crossed 200 marks in initial trend.

01:00: TMC supremo leading now by more than 1500 votes

12:45: Celebrations begin among TMC supporters in Kolkata.

12:30: According to ECI trend, Suvendu Adhikari, BJP candidate from Nandigram continues to lead from the Assembly constituency.

12:15: As per trend shown on ABP Ananda, TMC successfully crossed two-thirds majority mark in West Bengal to form govt.

12:00: As per latest reports, the vote margin between both BJP and TMC has reduced. Now, BJP is leading the seat by more than 3686 votes, reports ABP Ananda.

11:45: As per trend, TMC has crossed the majority figure to form government in the state for the third time. However, final counting is underway.

11:25: Fourth round counting underway.

11:15: Adhikari secured 23495 EVM votes so far while Banerjee secured 15,294 votes. Counting is still underway

11:00: Adhikari leading by more than 8,206 votes, reports ABP Ananda.

10:45: Fourth round counting underway

10:30: Another 13 rounds of counting will take place in Nandigram, before the final result is announced.

10:25: Fourth round counting begins.

10:10: Adhikari leading by more than 8,200 votes, reports ABP Ananda.

10:08: Three rounds votes counting still underway.

10:07: A total of 17 rounds votes will be counted.

10:04: BJP candidate Suvendu Adhikari is leading from the seat by more than 4,500 votes.

The Nandigram assembly constituency comes under Purba Medinipur district, which is considered as the bastion of the Adhikari family. Nandigram has a special place in West Bengal’s politics. It was the place where Mamata Banerjee launched her biggest political movement against the Left government in 2007. Suvendu Adhikari was her lieutenant in the movement. He himself has said that it was he who made that movement successful. The Nandigram movement was the beginning of the rise of Trinamool Congress in West Bengal. Mamata came to power in 2011.

While the Left too has fielded its candidate Minakshi Mukherjee in Nandigram, the fight is expected to be between Mamata and Suvendu. Suvendu Adhikari is a sitting MLA from Nandigram. He won this assembly seat in 2016 on TMC ticket. In that election, Ashikari defeated CPI’s Abdul Kabir Sekh by over 80,000 votes. Adhikari garnered 67.20 per cent votes while the Left leader had to settle with just 26.70 per cent votes. Before Adhikari, this seat was won by Firoja Bibi, who had also emerged victorious in 2009 byelection. In 2011, Bibi had trounced CPI’s Paramananda Bharati by over 40,000 votes.

The Nandigram assembly seat falls under the Tamluk Lok Sabha constituency, which is currently held by Dibyendu Adhikari — the younger brother of Suvendu Adhikari. Nandigram is the biggest prestige battle for Mamata and Suvendu. Both the leaders are confident of winning the seat but pollsters say the fight is very close and either side can win the battle. Suvendu was earlier with the TMC but he left the party just months before the election. He joined the BJP last December.


Get live Share Market updates and latest India News and business news on Financial Express. Download Financial Express App for latest business news.

First published on: 01-05-2021 at 14:21 IST