West Bengal Elections 2021: Phase 2 voting date, schedule, key candidates and constituencies – All you need to know

By: |
March 30, 2021 6:21 PM

West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021 Phase 2 Voting Date, Full Schedule, Candidates List: With first phase over and second phase on April 1, third phase will take place on April 6, phase-IV on April 10, phase-V on April 17, phase-VI on April 22, phase-VII on April 26 and phase-VIII on April 29. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

West Bengal Elections 2021 Phase Voting Date and Time, WB Assembly Elections Full ScheduleWest Bengal Elections 2021: Mamata Banerjee vs Suvendu Adhikari

West Bengal Elections 2021 Phase 2 Voting Date, Full Schedule, Candidates List, Constituency Details: West Bengal is gearing up for phase two polling on April 2. In the phase two, 30 assembly seats are up for grab — the same number of seats had gone to polls in first phase on March 27. These 30 seats are spread in three districts, South 24 Parganas, Bankura, and Medinipur. Polling in West Bengal was scheduled in eight phases. With first phase over and second phase on April 1, third phase will take place on April 6, phase-IV on April 10, phase-V on April 17, phase-VI on April 22, phase-VII on April 26 and phase-VIII on April 29. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

Nandigram Assembly Election 2021

For 30 seats in phase two, 171 candidates are in fray with 152 men and 19 women. Of all the constituencies, Nandigram is set to witness a high-profile contest between sitting chief minister Mamata Banerjee and her former party colleague and now BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari. Besides Adhikari and Banerjee, Left front candidate Minakshi Mukherjee is also trying her luck from Nandigram. The Left has won this seat eight times, and TMC 3.

Other Key fights

Panskura Paschim: Firoza Bibi (TMC) vs Shintu Senapati (BJP) vs Chittaranjan Das Thakur (CPIM)

Firoza Bibi has won twice from Nandigram on TMC ticket.

Moyana: Sangram Kumar Dolui (TMC) vs Ashoke Dinda (BJP) vs Manik Bhownik

Ashoke Dinda is a former cricketar, now with the BJP.

Importance of South 24 Parganas

Some assembly seats going to polls in phase two are in South 24 Parganas district. Overall, the district has 31 Assembly constituencies and is known as a Trinamool stronghold. In 2016, the TMC managed to win 29 of 31 seats in the South 24 Parganas. The BJP did manage to make a dent in the North 24 Parganas in the last parliamentary election held in 2019 bit it failed to score a victory in South 24 Parganas. Here, chief minister Mamata Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek won the Diamond Harbour Lok Sabha seat for the second time in 2019.

West Bengal Elections 2021: List of constituencies going to polls in Phase-II

SI No, Assembly Constituency No and Name

1 127 – Gosaba (SC)
2. 130 – Patharpratima
3. 131 – Kakdwip
4. 132 – Sagar
5. 203 – Tamluk
6. 204 – Panskura Purba
7. 205 – Panskura Paschim
8. 206 – Moyna
9. 207 – Nandakumar
10. 208 – Mahisadal
11. 209 – Haldia (SC)
12. 210 – Nandigram
13. 211 – Chandipur
14. 224 – Kharagpur Sadar
15. 225 – Narayangarh
16. 226 – Sabang
17. 227 – Pingla
18. 229 – Debra
19. 230 – Daspur
20. 231 – Ghatal (SC)
21. 232 – Chandrakona (SC)
22. 235 – Keshpur (SC)
23. 251 – Taldangra
24. 252 – Bankura
25. 253 – Barjora
26. 254 – Onda
27. 255 – Bishnupur
28. 256 – Katulpur (SC)
29. 257 – Indus (SC)
30. 258 – Sonamukhi (SC)

West Bengal Elections 2021: Documents for identification of voters at polling stations

Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office
Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
Driving License
PAN Card
Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
Indian Passport
Pension document with photograph
Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by
Central/State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies, and
Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs.

West Bengal Election 2021: Covid-19 Guidelines for safe election

Every person shall wear face mask during every election related activity.

At the entry of hall/ room/ premises used for election purposes: Thermal Scanning of all persons shall be carried out; Sanitizer shall be made available at all locations.

Social distancing shall be maintained as per the extant Covid-19 guidelines of the State Govt. and Ministry of Home Affairs.

As far as practicable, large halls should be identified and utilized to ensure social distancing norms.

Adequate number of vehicles shall be mobilized for movement of polling personnel, security personnel to ensure compliance of Covid-19 guidelines.

This time, the Bharatiya Janata Party is contesting on 293 seats while it has left one seat for its alliance partner All Jharkhand Students Union headed by Ashutosh Mahto. Mamata Banerjee’s TMC is contesting on 290 seats and has given three seats to Bimal Gurung’s Gorkha Janmukti Morcha, which has presence in hilly regions of North Bengal. Left-led Third Front is fighting on 137 seats while the Congress is contesting on 91 and Abbas Siddiqui’s Indian Secular Front on 28.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1BJP responsible for collapse of health system: Akhilesh Yadav amid surge in COVID-19 cases
2‘Kejriwal’s speech shared on TV because …’: Delhi CMO on Oxygen shortage in hospitals live feed that irked PM Modi
3People dying due to lack of oxygen, why can’t TN govt take over Vedanta’s unit to produce it: SC