West Bengal Election Result 2021: Mamata Banerjee takes oath as CM for third time; PM Modi congratulates her

West Bengal Election Result Mamata Banerjee swearing-in: West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar will administer oath to Mamata Banerjee.

Mamata Banerjee Swearing-In Live, West Bengal Election Results 2021 Live
Mamata Banerjee Swearing-In Live

West Bengal Election Result 2021 Mamata Banerjee swearing-in: Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee has sworn-in as the Chief Minister of West Bengal for the third time in a row. The swearing-in ceremony was low-key programme due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation. Mamata Banerjee’s swearing-in took place at Raj Bhavan in Kolkata today. Notably, no BJP leader was invited to the ceremony. Invitations were sent to her predecessor Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, leader of Opposition of the outgoing House Abdul Mannan and CPI(M) veteran leader Biman Bose. Among others, TMC and Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee, TMC’s poll-strategist Prashant Kishor and party leader Firhad Hakim were also invited at the ceremony. Chief ministers of other states and leaders of other political parties had not been invited to the programme keeping in mind the current COVID-19 situation in the country.

West Bengal Election Result 2021, Mamata Banerjee Swearing-In News:

11.20 am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Mamata Banerjee on taking oath as West Bengal’s Chief Minister.

11.17 am: Bengal’s administrative machinery was under Election Commission, now we will tackle disturbances: Mamata on political violence

11.15 am: Hope CM Mamata Banerjee will take urgent steps to restore rule of law, says Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar after Mamata takes oath.

11.10 am: CM Mamata Banerjee urges all political parties to ensure peace peace prevails soon after taking oath.

11.08 am: Our first priority is to end horrendous post poll violence in state, says Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar at Mamata’s oath-taking ceremony.

11.07 am: Mamata Banerjee took the oath in Bengali language.

11.05 am: Mamata Banerjee is the eighth chief minister of West Bengal.

11.00 am: Mamata Banerjee will now go to state secretariat ‘Nabanna’ where she will be given ‘guard of honour’ by Kolkata Police.

10.49 am: Mamata Banerjee takes oath as Bengal CM for third consecutive time

10.42 am: TMC leaders have also reached Raj Bhavan.

10.32 am: Mamata Banerjee arrives at the Raj Bhavan in Kolkata.

10.28 am: West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar says ‘senseless violence’ and ‘collapse of law and order’ will not be overlooked.

10.24 am: A petition was filed in the Supreme Court yesterday alleging widespread violence in the aftermath of the West Bengal poll and sought imposition of President’s rule, deployment of central forces and a probe by a retired apex court judge into the violence.

10.20 am: Expressing anger over the post-poll violence in West Bengal, the Vishva Hindu Parishad (VHP) has said that the Hindu society in the state is terrified by the unabated political attacks and has the full right of self-defense.

10.16 am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has himself called Bengal Governor expressing concern over the violence. The Home Ministry had already asked the Bengal government to submit a report on the issue.

10.14 am: The BJP has been cornering Mamata Banerjee over the post-poll violence.

10.10 am: BJP president JP Nadda has visited Bengal and its party-workers’ home who were killed allegedly by the TMC.

10.06 am: A post-poll violence has broken out in several districts of West Bengal in which around 10 people lost their lives. The BJP has claimed that they were its party workers and were allegedly killed by TMC goons.

10.03 am: While the TMC’s vote share remained around the 2016 polls, the BJP had managed to increase its vote share in Assembly polls over three times.

9.57 am: The Congress and CPI-M had failed to open their account this time.

9.55 am: The swearing-in ceremony will be taking place around 10.45 am today.

9.52 am: The TMC had secured a landslide victory by securing 213 seats of 292 that went to polls. The BJP emerged as the Opposition party by winning 77 seats.

9.50 am: In Nandigram, BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari had defeated Banerjee by a margin of 1956 votes.

9.45 am: Mamata Banerjee need to get elected to the West Bengal Assembly as she had lost Nandigram battle.

Only Mamata Banerjee has taken oath today while it is not clear when her cabinet colleagues will be taking an oath. Banerjee will now go to the state secretariat ‘Nabanna’ where she will be given ‘guard of honour’ by Kolkata Police.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express Telegram Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.