Vengara Bypoll Results 2017: SDPI’s increased vote share rattles LDF and BJP

By: |
Updated: October 15, 2017 1:28:30 PM

Vengara Bypoll Results 2017 Live Updates: UDF has won the battle for Vergara and this has become a much-debated issue right now in Kerala politics, given the shadow of the Vigilance probe announced by LDF government pertaining to the solar scam.

Vengara Bypoll Results 2017 Live Updates: The results for the bypolls have been declared. (PTI)

Vengara Bypoll Results 2017 Live Updates: UDF has won the battle for Vengara and this has become a much-debated issue right now in Kerala politics, given the shadow of the Vigilance probe announced by LDF government pertaining to the solar scam. “Very happy, I dedicate this win to the ordinary people who supported UDF and the party workers who worked very sincerely,” UDF’s KNA Khader told media persons.

”Matter of concern how SDPI garnered vote bank share? This is something to be looked into as it also shows parties have ganged up against BJP in Vengara,” BJP Kummanam Rajasekharan told media reporters.

”The Muslim League and UDF played up the communal card which the LDF didnt, dividing the community, attacking my family using religious symbols and highlighting that they brought up the Hadiya case whereas LDF did not communalise issues or take that approach at all. Another important fact is that the Muslim League showed its money power in a big way. It was already reported that around Rs 80 lakh black money had been seized in Vengara but clearly there was more money that they pumped into the constituency that may have gone undetected, ” LDF’s PP Basheer told local TV news channels in Kerala.

”Solar bomb exploded on Vengara polling day but people showed that political witchhunt and vengeful politics don’t work, they showed their support to UDF and given a befitting reply to LDF,” MM Hassan, KPCC President stated.
Speaking to news reporters, Ramesh Chennithala, Leader of Opposition stated, “Political machinery was thoroughly misused to malign UDF and strengthen the campaign in Vengara but people showed their support. This clean win is Kerala’s reply to LDF.

‘This has been a historic win for LDF,” says Kunhalikutty .

”UDF’s win a plus point, it is disturbing tht the win is not by a big margin which UDF usually gets in Vengara but still this shows that the #solarscam had no impact,” said K. Muraleedharan, Congress

VM Sudheeran, Kerala’s senior Congress leader told media persons, ”This is a clear win for UDF. BJP and LDF worked together in Vengara, and the votes that BJP lost benefited LDF, which has been their clear strategy to benefit each from the start.More like ‘Bandhukal shatrukal formula’ – where they are related to each other but enemies and fighting each other as well.”

The Vengara byelections in Kerala has been a much heated battle between the UDF and LDF, after they announced the names of their respective candidates. UDF had opted to field IUML leader KNA Khader as its candidate although the initial reports had hinted that it would be the IUML’s state general secretary KPA Majeed. Also, the names of UA Latheef and PMA Salam had also been doing the initial rounds. Following KPA Majeed’s decision to back out, KNA Khader’s name has been confirmed officially.

PP Basheer is LDF’s candidate and the party district secretariat recommended PP. Basheer’s name for the Vengara bypolls. Other candidates in the fray include BJP’s K.Janachandra as well as KC Naseer who belongs to the Social Democratic Party of India. For those who are not familiar with the developments, the Vengara Assembly bypoll is taking place, following PK Kunhalikutty’s resignation as sitting MLA and then his subsequent election to the Lok Sabha from Malappuram this yea, after the demise of prominent leader E. Ahamed. In 2016, PK Kunhalikutty won the constituency with a whopping margin of 38,057 votes but now CPI(M) had eyed the constituency too and they put up a strong campaign to win in this constituency.


Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1CP Yogeshwar resigns from Congress
2Nirmala Sitharaman visits Combat Vehicles Research and Development Establishment, Chennai
3Five bills introduced in Arunachal Pradesh Assembly