UP Panchayat Election 2021 Voting Schedule: Full list of constituencies going to polls in Phase 1

By: |
April 14, 2021 10:38 AM

UP Panchayat Election Voting Schedule, UP Polls 2021 Phase 1 Constituencies List: Elections are being held for four posts- Gram Panchayat, Gram Pradhan, Block Panchayat and Zila Panchayat.

UP Panchayat Election 2021

Uttar Pradesh Gram Panchayat Election 2021 Voting Schedule: Uttar Pradesh panchayat elections are being held in four phases – April 15, April 19, April 26 and April 29 while the counting of votes will take place on May 2. The voting will be held between 7 am to 6 pm. The campaigning for the first phase polls has concluded yesterday. There are 18 constituencies that are going to polls in Phase-I. Meanwhile, Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Saifai family continues its dominance over Saifai Gram Panchayat. This time, Mulayam Singh Yadav’s daughter-in-law Mridula Yadav has been elected unopposed as BDC members in the Kshetra Panchayat for the second time.

Full List of phase-I constituencies going to polls:

Kanpur City
Sant Kabir Nagar

As the stage is all set for the much-awaited Panchayat elections, the election commission has made adequate arrangements for conducting polling smoothly amid the COVID-19 pandemic. The Election Commission is also struggling with the huge number of nominations received. According to reports, the Returning Officer has received around 3.40 lakh nominations for 2.21 lakh posts across 20 districts. The EC is expecting the numbers to go up to 3.50 lakh just like the 2015 polls. The election has turned interesting as the political parties this time are openly backing candidates. The Panchayat Election is also expected to set the tone for Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2022. Interestingly, the Aam Aadmi Party, AIMIM and Bhim Army chief Chandrashekhar Azad’s Azad Samaj Party are also contesting the Panchayat Polls. According to estimates, the total number of nominations for 8.69 lakh posts in all four phases may reach around 17 lakh.

Elections are being held for four posts- Gram Panchayat, Gram Pradhan, Block Panchayat and Zila Panchayat.

Among the key candidates in the fray, are Miss India 2015 contestant and model Diksha Singh for Zila panchayat post from Ward No. 26 of Jaunpur, Srikala Singh, who is a BJP member and wife of gangster-turned-politician and murder accused Dhananjay Singh, from Ward 45 of Jaunpur, and Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav’s niece Sandhya Yadav who has the backing of the BJP for a Mainpuri district panchayat seat. Notably, the BJP has now withdrawn the candidature of Sangeeta Sengar, wife of ex-BJP MP and rape convict Kuldeep Singh Sengar. The BJP had fielded her from Ward No 22 of Unnao district panchayat.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Congress President Election 2021: Congress Working Committee defers party president election citing COVID crisis
2Not apps but jabs will save people: Rahul Gandhi vouches for rural population’s vaccination
3West Bengal Minister List 2021: Check full list of 43 cabinet ministers and their portfolios