1. UP Civic Polls 2017: Final phase voting in 26 districts closes; faulty EVMs to scuffles reported

UP Civic Polls 2017: Final phase voting in 26 districts closes; faulty EVMs to scuffles reported

UP Civic Polls 2017: Voting in as many as 26 districts for the local bodies of Uttar Pradesh are taking place today.

By: | New Delhi | Updated: November 29, 2017 5:26 PM
UP civic polls, UP civic polls live, UP civic polls 2017, UP civic polls 2017 live, UP civic polls news, UP civic polls 2017 updates, UP civic polls dates, UP civic polls 3 phase, UP civic polls 2017 dates, UP civic polls counting, UP civic polls winner, UP civic polls bjp, UP civic polls sp, UP civic polls bsp, uttar pradesh news, yogi adityanath, narendra modi, pm modi, UP Civic Polls 2017: Voting in as many as 26 districts for the local bodies of Uttar Pradesh are taking place today.

UP Civic Polls 2017: Voting in as many as 26 districts for the local bodies of Uttar Pradesh took place today. Polling for the first phase of UP Civic Polls was held on November 22, while the second phase took place on November 26. Counting of votes for all the three phases will be done on December 1 and results will be declared the same day. The districts are voting today include Saharanpur, Baghpat, Bulandshahr, Moradabad, Sambhal, Etah, Firozabad, Kannauj, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Jhansi, Mahoba, Fatehpur, Rae Bareli, Sitapur, Lakhimpur Khiri, Barabanki, Balrampur, Siddharthanagar, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Mau, Chandauli, Jaunpur and Mirzapur.

UP Civic Polls Phase 3 UPDATES:

5:10 pm: Doors shut before 5 pm at a polling station in Saharanpur.

5:00 pm: Voting closed at 26 districts in the third phase of the Uttar Pradesh municipal corporation elections.

4:50 pm: Update from Kanpur (rural) – Fake votes registered. Pithasin official held for the incident. Incident occurred at Alamchandrapur’s Akbarpur

4:40 pm: Update from Baghpat – Two people who were accused of fake voting has a scuffle with party workers. Damage to vehicles reported. Four people injured.

4:30 pm: In Jaunpur, reports of voters creating a ruckus at polling stations 10, 15, 25, 24 came in. CRPF called in.

4:15 pm: In Mahoba, independent candidate held for giving away silver coins in lieu of votes. The name of the candidate is Santosh Soni.

4:00 pm: Reports of a scuffle between voters and police surfaces in Saharanpur.

3:45 pm: Mobile phones banned at a polling station in Saharanpur.

3:30 pm: A woman was allegedly beaten up Baghpat. Goons beat up the woman at the polling station.

3:10 pm: Reports of EVM being hang came in from Saharanpur. Voters upset with the delay.

3:00 pm: Police lathi charge locals after a scuffle in UP’s Barabanki over names missing in voter list, destroy tables and chairs.

2:00 pm: 2 arrested in Kanauj after ruckus by members of an independent party. Ruckus after a polling agent was found outside the booth.

1:40 pm: 3 arrested for bogus voting in Baghpat.

1:10 pm: 2 women arrested for bogus voting in Firozabad.

1:00 pm: Voters find their names missing from voter list in Muradabad. Many voters are protesting at Ward no. 48.

12:35 pm: Several incidents of bogus voting have been reported from different polling booths in Saharanpur. Multiple arrests have been made.

12:23 pm: Names missing from voters list in Sitapur.

12:21 pm: Re-polling in Lucknow’s Balaganj booth today. Police deployment at poll booth. There were complaints of names gone missing from the rolls and EVMs malfunctioning on Sunday.

12:19 pm: 1 woman among 3 arrested for fake voting in Saharanpur.

11:30 am: Jaunpur: Names of 500 voters missing.

11:17 am: Reports of stone pelting at a polling booth in Etah.

11:16 am: Voters complain about faulty EVMs in three booths in Jhansi.

10:56 am: Clashes between Congress and independent party workers in Saharanpur.

10:55 am: Three fake voters arrested during polling in Saharanpur.

10:50 am: Voting resumes in Firozabad after being halted for around 30 minutes.Faulty EVM kept voters waiting to cast ballot.

10:30 am: Candidate arrested in Bareilly after being distributing money to voters.

10:19 am: Voting has been disrupted due to fault in EVM in Firozabad.

10:17 am: EVM malfunctioning in Saharanpur. Voters unable to cast votes.

10:16 am: Congress leader PL Punia casts vote in Barabanki.

10:08 am: Third phase of polls in 26 districts underway in UP. 233 local bodies under civic polls. 10810 poll booths for last phase polls.

9:48 am: A Congress candidate is arrested in Saharanpur. He is accused of buying votes.

9:15 am: Litmus test for Yogi Adityanath government ahead of the results on Friday.

9:00 am: It is for the first time that all the other major parties – Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Samajwadi Party and Congress are contesting the urban body polls on their party symbols.

8:45 am: Voting for 76 Nagar Palika Parishads and 152 urban panchayats is also underway.

8:40 am: Final phase of elections in 233 urban bodies spread across 26 districts.

8:30 am: Voting underway in 26 districts. These districts include five municipal corporations of Bareilly, Saharanpur, Jhansi, Firozabad and Moradabad.

8:15 am: Voting continues in 26 districts of Uttar Pradesh in local body elections today. Polling to continue till 5 pm.

8:10 am: Final test for UP CM Yogi Adityanath as the state goes for last phase polling in the civic elections.

8:00 am: EVM malfunction in Jhansi poll booth. Voters are not able to cast their votes at the poll booth there.

7:51 am: Clash and stone pelting between two BJP and Samajwadi Party in Utah due to incidents of distributing money.

7:50 am: Final phase of polling begins in Uttar Pradesh. 26 districts to cast vote today.

7:25 am: Third and last phase of polling for Uttar Pradesh civic polls is being held today.

7:23 am: UP CM Yogi Adityanath is on a three-day Gujarat tour for election rallies. Adityanath will attend rallies in Jamnagar and Porbandar. To address rallies in Kalavad and Bhavnagar tomorrow.

7:12 am: WATCH- Polling to begin shortly

7:09 am: It has been learnt that around 48 per cent of voters exercised their franchise during the second phase of the state urban local body elections held on Sunday.

7:06 am: Mathura, which went held polls to its municipal corporation for the first time, recorded 41.36 per cent participation.

7:03 am: The Yogi Adityanath government had recently merged the Vrindavan and Mathura municipal boards to form the Mathura Nagar Nigam.

7:00 am: The state election commission had said that the polling was largely peaceful.

6:57 am: Security along the borders has been stepped up in the wake of reports that anti-social elements could infiltrate into the country and disrupt the polling, according to a top official.

6:54 am: The threat of Maoists and the porous Indo-Nepal border are the two biggest challenges during the third phase of municipal polls in Maharajganj and the International Border has been sealed to tackle this, the official said.

6:51 am: Cameras have been installed on trade and transit points along India’s border with Nepal to prevent illegal movement of people.

6:48 am: The 84 km-long Indo-Nepal border has been sealed ahead of the third phase of civic polls today.

6:45 am: The Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) is enforcing the sealing of the border, District Magistrate and Electoral Officer Virendra Kumar Singh told reporters.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Go to Top