Tripura Assembly elections: BJP announces candidates for 44 seats for upcoming polls

By: |
New Delhi | Published: January 27, 2018 10:09:13 PM

Hours after Congress announced their candidates Congress announced its list for Tripura elections, BJP too declared its 44 candidates for the 60 members Assembly.

bjp, congress, tripura, tripura assembly elections, meghalaya, nagaland, nagaland assembly elections, meghalaya assembly electionsBJP leader JP Nadda (ANI)

Hours after Congress announced their candidates Congress announced its list for Tripura elections, BJP too declared its 44 candidates for the 60 members Assembly. Speaking to media, BJP leader JP Nadda said his party would contest in 51 seats in the upcoming polls while Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) in nine seats.”Out of the 60 seats in Tripura, BJP will contest elections in 51 seats and IPFT on the remaining 9 seats,” he was quoted as saying by ANI.

He further said that out of 60 candidates, the party today announced candidates for 44. “There are 60 seats in total. Today we have declared candidates for 44 seats,” NDA was quoted by the agency as saying further. Earlier in the day, Congress announced its list of 56 candidates for the state, while also declaring names of 57 candidates for Meghalaya Assembly. The Election Commission on January 18, had announced dates for Assembly polls in Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland. the three states are among eight in the country that would go to polls this year. Even as Tripura is scheduled to go on polls on February 18, voters in Meghalaya and Nagaland will be voting on February 27. Results are be announced on March 3.

According to then CEC A K Joti, who announced dates days before retiring, for the first time, Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines will be also deployed in three states along with EVMs. EVMs were used for last 20 years, he added. Terms in Meghalaya, Nagaland, and Tripura are going to end on March 6, March 13 and March 14, 2018, respectively. The strength of these three Assemblies is 60 each.

Congress is currently in power in Meghalaya. It won 29 seats in the last Assembly polls. The election is crucial for the party, as it is one of few states in its control. In Tripura, Left Front is in power. Here, BJP and the Congress will try to improve their positions in the House. While BJP has just 7 MLAs, Congress has just 2 respectively.

The Naga People’s Front is at the helm in Nagaland. Even as BJP won four seats last time, JD(U) got one. Later this year, polls will also be held in the Karnataka, Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan Assemblies .

Left Front announced its candidates for Tripura polls on June 23. They announced the names of 60 candidates with ten new faces. The list had 57 CPI (M) candidates, while Communist Party of India (CPI), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), and Forward Bloc (FB) had one candidate each.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Won’t use potable water for ground maintenance during IPL this year: MCA to Bombay High Court
2Arvind Kejriwal unveils Tipu Sultan’s portrait in Delhi Assembly, BJP unhappy
3Traders’ body calls for shutdown on February 2-3 against sealing