Tamil Nadu, Puducherry Election Results 2021: DMK sweeps TN; NDA gets consolation win in Puducherry

By: |
Updated: May 02, 2021 6:43 PM

Tamil Nadu Election Results Live, TN Election Results Live, Puducherry Assembly Election Results 2021 Live: DMK is ahead of the AIADMK on over 140 seats.

Tamil Nadu, Puducherry Election Results 2021,According to exit polls released on April 29, the DMK led by MK Stalin is expected to sweep the southern state by winning over 150 of 234 seats.

TN Election Results Live News, Tamil Nadu Election Results 2021 Live, Puducherry Election Results Live News: Just like the exit polls prediction, MK Stalin-led DMK managed to pull off the much awaited victory in Tamil Nadu ousting the AIADMK government. After ruling for 10 years, the ruling AIADMK is on its way out of power in Tamil Nadu. The DMK is leading on 142 seats while the rival AIADMK is hovering around 89 seats. With this, MK Stalin is all set to become the 8th Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. This is the first election in Tamil Nadu for the DMK and the AIADMK which was fought without M Karunanidhi and J Jayalalithaa. The exit polls had predicted the return of the DMK. According to exit polls released on April 29, the DMK led by MK Stalin was expected to sweep the southern state by winning over 150 of 234 seats. The AIADMK, on the other hand, was projected to get just 70-8 seats. Except for one poll, all have predicted massive win for Stalin. The predictions for the DMK range from 160-193 seats. India News-Jan Ki Baat, however, had projected hung assembly with DMK getting 110-130 and AIADMK 102-123. The AIADMK was led by E Palaniswami while DMK was headed by Stalin. There were two other alliances in the fray but their impact was projected to be limited with seats predictions ranging from 4-6 for Dhinakarana led AMMK and 0-2 seats for Kamal Haasan-led MMK.

Also Read: Assembly Election Results 2021 Live Updates: Who is winning West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam, Puducherry — Counting at 8 AM

In Puducherry, the NDA has got a consolation victory after facing a massive defeat in West Bengal. The NDA is leading on over 12 seats while the Congress-led SDA is ahead in just 4 seats. In Puducherry, the NDA is expected to win 16-23 of 30 seats. The Congress-led UPA may have to settle with 6-13 seats. The Congress was in the power in the state but its government fell after some of its MLAs quit the government just months before the elections. For NDA, N Rangaswamy’s All India NR Congress is the largest party which is contesting on 16 seats while the BJP is fighting on 9. From UPA, the Congress is contesting on 14 seats, DMK 13, CPI 1, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi 1 and one independent.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Govt seeks five names for panel on MSP, other issues; two union leaders say time to discuss dharna end, Tikait remains defiant
2Can’t wait ‘forever’ for fugitive industrialist Vijay Mallya: SC
3‘Grossly unjust’: Congress leader Anand Sharma says opposition being painted wrongly