Tamil Nadu elections 2016: Jayalalithaa to be sworn in as CM on May 23

By: |
Chennai | Published: May 21, 2016 9:13:42 PM

Tamil Nadu Governor K Rosaiah today invited Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa to form the government after she apprised him of her election as leader of AIADMK Legislature Party.

Tamil Nadu Governor K Rosaiah today invited Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa to form the government after she apprised him of her election as leader of AIADMK Legislature Party.

She will be sworn in Chief Minister along with 28 others, including her trusted lieutenant and Finance Minister in the outgoing Cabinet O Panneerselvam, on May 23 in a function at the Madras University Centenary Auditorium here.

She called on Rosaiah at the Raj Bhavan and submitted a letter informing him of her election as Leader of the AIADMK legislature party.

Later, Rosaiah congratulated her and gave a letter inviting her to form the government.

“Jayalalithaa furnished a list of persons to be appointed Ministers in her Cabinet which was approved by Governor Rosaiah,” an official release from the Raj Bhavan said.

Jayalalithaa will have portfolios of Home and All India Services including the IAS, public and general administration, stated the release.

Panneerselvam will be the Minister for Finance, Personnel and Administrative Reforms again, while former MP Dindigul C Srinivasan will be the Minister for Forests.

Several of the sitting Ministers have been named to hold offices again including P Thangamani (Electricity), S P Velumani (Municipal Administration and Rural Development), Edappadi K Palaniswami (Public Works), K T Rajenthra Bhalaji (Rural Industries), R B Udhayakumar (Revenue), S P Shanmuganathan (Milk and Dairy Development), and K C Veeramani (Commercial Taxes), the release said.

Including Jayalalithaa, there will be four women in the Cabinet besides three medical doctors.

Deputy Mayor of Chennai Corporation P Benjamin, who won from Maduravoyal here amid tough competition from DMK, has been named Minister for School Education and Sports and Youth Welfare. M R Vijayabaskar will be Transport Minister.

Edappadi K Palaniswami has been allocated Public Works in addition to the portfolios of Highways and Minor Ports, which he held in the outgoing Cabinet. Sellur K Raju will head Cooperation again besides Labour, it said.

According to the release, AIADMK strongman from Coimbatore district S P Velumani has been given the portfolio of Municipal Administration, Rural Development and Implementation of Special Programme.

Party veteran from North Chennai D Jayakumar, who was also a former Speaker, will be the Minister for Fisheries, while former minister and party leader based in Villupuram C Ve Shanmugam will be Minister for Law, Courts and Prisons.

Former Minister and a legislator since 2001, K P Anbazhagan has been named Minister for Higher Education.

V Saroja, a gynaecologist from Rasipuram, will be Social Welfare Minister.

Sitting Ministers M C Sampath and R Kamaraj will be Ministers again with the former getting industries portfolio and the latter Food and Civil Supplies. Dr C Vijaya Baskar, a medical doctor, will again be the Health Minister, the statement said.

R Duraikannu, who won in the face of tough fight with DMK in the Cauvery Delta constituency of Papanasam, will be Agriculture Minister. Kadambur Raju will be Information and Publicity Minister.

The new faces who will be sworn in as ministers are KC Karuppannan (Environment), O S Manian (Handlooms and Textiles), Udumalai Radhakrishnan (Housing and Urban Development), S Valarmathi (Minister for Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare), Vellamandi N Natarajan (Tourism), V M Rajalakshmi (Minister for Adi Dravidar and Tribal Welare) and Dr M Manikandan Minister for Information Technology, it added.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.