Sanjay Mitra takes over as new Defence Secretary, replaces G Mohan Kumar

By: |
New Delhi | Published: May 25, 2017 6:31:09 PM

Sanjay Mitra has replaced G Mohan Kumar, whose term ended today.

sanjay mitra defence secretary, new defence secretary, administrative reshuffle, new defence secretarym defence secretary sanjay mitra, transport secretary sanjay mitra, narendra modi, mitra, sanjay mitra defence secrataryMitra, 58, will have a fixed two-year tenure. (PTI)

Sanjay Mitra,  a 1982 batch IAS officer of West Bengal cadre, has taken over as the new Defence Secretary in the Union Government, ANI reported. In his earlier assignment, Mitra was serving as the Road Transport and Highways Secretary. The top bureaucrat has replaced G Mohan Kumar, whose term comes to an end today. Press Trust of India reported that Mitra, 58, will have a fixed two-year tenure.

This is his first assignment in the Defence Ministry. Previously, he was appointed Road Transport and Highways secretary in December 2015. Mitra, who is from Delhi, was then the chief secretary in West Bengal. Mitra has also served as a joint secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office of Manmohan Singh between November 2004 to July 2011.

Meanwhile, Shipping Secretary Rajive Kumar has been given the additional charge of the post of Secretary, Road, Transport, and Highways. Mitra’s appointment came as part of major bureaucratic reshuffle. Besides him, five new secretaries have been appointed in central government departments. Mitra’s batchmate Rashmi Verma, at present Textiles secretary, is the new Tourism Secretary.

Anant Kumar Singh, Petroleum and Natural Gas Additional Secretary,  will replace Verma. Jagdish Prasad Meena has been appointed as Secretary, Department of Consumer Affairs. Meena is currently the special secretary in the Ministry of Food Processing Industries. Leena Nair, Women and Child Development Secretary, has been moved to the Ministry of Tribal Affairs.

Nair will be replaced by Rakesh Srivastava, a 1981 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre. Srivastava currently serves as Member Secretary, National Commission for Backward Classes. Meanwhile, the Electronics and Information Technology Secretary Aruna Sundararajan will hold the additional charge of secretary, Department of Telecommunications.


Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.