Rajya Sabha election 2020: Former PM HD Deve Gowda files nomination from Karnataka

By: |
Updated: Jun 09, 2020 3:33 PM

HD Deve Gowda files nomination: This will be the second Rajya Sabha entry for 87-year-old HD Deve Gowda, the first time being in 1996 as the Prime Minister.

HD Deve Gowda files nomination for Rajya Sabha election.He is a joint candidate of Congress and JD(S) from Karnataka.

JD(S) patriarch H D Deve Gowda on Tuesday filed his nomination as party’s candidate for June 19 Rajya Sabha elections from Karnataka. The former Prime Minister was accompanied by his sons former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy and former Minister H D Revanna, state JD(S) chief HD Kumaraswamy and others, as he filed his papers at the office of Legislative Assembly Secretary M K Vishalakshi, who is the returning officer for the polls.

JD(S) on Monday had announced that Gowda will be contesting the Rajya Sabha polls.

Announcing the decision, Kumaraswamy had said Gowda decided to contest following the request of Congress President Sonia Gandhi, several national leaders and party legislators, and it was not an easy task to “persuade” him to enter the Rajya Sabha.

The JD(S), which has 34 seats in the assembly, is not in a position to win a seat in Rajya Sabha on its own and will need support from the Congress with its surplus votes. A minimum of 45 votes are required for a candidate to win. If he wins, this will be the second Rajya Sabha entry for 87-year-old Gowda, the first time being in 1996 as the Prime Minister. Gowda was defeated in Tumkur constituency by BJP’s GS Basavaraj by over 13,000 votes in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

As joint candidate of the then ruling Congress-JDS coalition, Gowda had chosen to contest from Tumkur at the last minute after vacating Hassan-his home turf, to grandson Prajwal Revanna (a current MP).

Election is scheduled on June 19 to fill four Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka, represented by Rajeev Gowda and BK Hariprasad of Congress, Prabhakar Kore of the BJP and D Kupendra Reddy of JD(S) that will fall vacant on June 25, with their retirement. Today is the last date for filing nominations.

With BJP not fielding any candidate against Gowda, his election is likely to be unanimous.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Bihar Assembly election 2020: First time voter? All you need to know before you vote
2MCDs not releasing salaries of doctors shameful, Centre must grant funds to civic bodies, says Kejriwal
3Bihar Assembly Election 2020: How to download photo voter slip online