Rajasthan by-election results 2018 Highlights: Shock for BJP! Congress wins Alwar, Ajmer, Mandalgarh bypolls

By: |
Jaipur | Updated: February 1, 2018 6:03:24 PM

Rajasthan by-election results 2018 Highlights: In a big setback to the ruling BJP, the Congress has won a landslide victory in all the three constituencies - Alwar, Ajmer, and Mandalgarh. The Congress' victory is being attributed to the state party chief Sachin Pilot's aggressive campaign.

Rajasthan by election result 2018Ajmer: People show their fingers marked with indelible ink after casting her vote during by-election for parliamentary seat at a village near Ajmer on Monday. PTI Photo

Rajasthan by-election result 2018: The Congress has made a clean sweep in the Rajasthan by-elections winning all the three constituencies – Mandalgarh, Alwar, and Ajmer. The Congress candidate from Mandalgarh, Vivek Dhakad defeated BJP’s Shakti Singh Hada. Congress’ Raghu Sharma defeated BJP’s Sanwarlal Jat in Ajmer and Congress’ Karan Singh Yadav defeated BJP’s Jaswant Yadav in Alwar. The results are no less than a big jolt to the incumbent BJP government. Later, this year, assembly elections are scheduled to take place in the state. The bypolls in the state have been dubbed as “semifinal” of the Assembly elections to be held in the state towards the end of the year. Both the BJP and Congress, led by chief minister Vasundhara Raje and state party chief Sachin Pilot respectively, had campaigned aggressively, spending weeks in the constituencies.


5: 29 PM: Congress President Rahul Gandhi expressed his delight over Congress’ clean sweep in the Rajasthan by-elections through a tweet saying, “Well done Rajasthan Congress! Proud of each and every one of you. This is a rejection of the BJP by the people of Rajasthan.”

4: 41 PM: The Congress has won the constituencies of Mandalgarh and Alwar and Ajmer.  The results are no less than a shock for the Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje ahead of Assembly polls.

2: 40 PM: The by-election results may give a big jolt to the Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje as after losing the Mandalgarh seat, the BJP is lacking behind in the Ajmer and Alwar constituencies as well.

2: 31 PM: As per the recent trends, Congress is leading with 1,23,507 votes in Alwar and with 70,634 votes in Ajmer.

1: 30 PM: Congress’ Vivek Dhakad has clinched Mandalgarh assembly seat by 12976 votes.

1:00 PM: Congress is leading in the Ajmer and Alwar seats with a vote margin of 154336 and 10,000 respectively.

12: 24 PM: As per recent trends, the Congress candidate Raghu Sharma is leading with 1,54,336 votes in Ajmer Lok Sabha seat.

11: 40 AM: Congress is leading in Ajmer Lok Sabha by 20800 votes, in Alwar Lok Sabha by 43728 votes and in Mandalgarh assembly by 116 votes.

11: 00 AM: “Initial trends from Rajasthan Bypolls are a mandate against the Govt, I hope our leads will increase even more. Vasundhara ji and her Govt have been totally rejected by people,” Sachin Pilot was quoted as saying as per ANI.

9: 52 AM: The Mandalgarh assembly seat is proving to be a sigh of relief for the Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje. The ruling BJP is leading on the Mandalgarh assembly seat as per the early by-poll trends. The BJP has left behind opponents with a vote margin of 3072 votes in the constituency.

9: 35 am: The Congress is winning big in the state of Rajasthan if early trends of the vote count are anything to go by. The grand old party is crushing the BJP in Ajmer and Alwar constituencies with a massive margin of 7585 votes and 30,595 votes, respectively. The only refuge for the BJP comes from Mandalgarh where the saffron party is leading with a mere 699 votes.

Polling Day report: Over 60 per cent polling was recorded in Ajmer, Alwar Lok Sabha bypolls and 78.78 per cent for Mandalgarh Assembly seat. Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha constituencies saw a turnout of 65.2 and 61.86 per cent while the Mandalgarh Assembly seat registered an even higher 78.78 per cent. The vting in the bypolls for these seats took place peacefully on Monday.

The voters’ turnout was, however, still less than those recorded the last time when these constituencies went to polls, according to the Election Commission officials. “The voting took place peacefully in the two Lok Sabha and one Assembly constituency from 8 am to 6 pm today,” chief electoral officer Ashwini Bhagat said.

In 2014 General Elections, Ajmer and Alwar had registered 68.65 per cent and 65.50 per
cent voting respectively, while Mandalgarh had recorded 82 per cent voting during the 2013 Rajasthan Assembly p

Final result:

Mandalgarh Constituency: Congress’ Vivek Dhakad defeats BJP’s Shakti Singh Hada by a margin of 12976  votes.

Ajmer Constituency: Congress’ Raghu Sharma defeats BJP’s Sanwarlal Jat by a huge margin.

Alwar Constituency: Congress’ Karan Singh Yadav defeats BJP’s Jaswant Yadav by 1,56,319 votes in Alwar.

Follow financialexpress.com for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition