Rahul Gandhi in Meghalaya Live Updates: Congress president hits campaign trail, addresses working committee in Shillong

By: |
Shillong | Updated: January 30, 2018 9:19:07 PM

Rahul Gandhi in Meghalaya Live Updates: A day after 115 Congress leaders quit the party in the state, the grand old party's president will start the campaign for the upcoming election in the state today.

rahul gandhi imageNew Delhi: Congress President Rahul Gandhi during an ?At Home? reception organised on the occasion of Republic Day at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Friday. PTI Photo

Rahul Gandhi in Meghalaya Live Updates: A day after 115 Congress leaders quit the party in the state, the grand old party’s president will start the campaign for the upcoming election in the state today. The elections to the 60-member Meghalaya assembly will take place on February 27. The Congress president will kick off the election campaign of his party in Meghalaya with a musical festival showcasing the cultural diversity Meghalaya. Gandhi will also hold meeting with religious heads and chiefs of traditional institutions. On Monday, the Congress announced Gandhi’s his Meghalaya visit on Twitter, saying, “Congress President Rahul Gandhi to kick off the election campaign in a way truly unique to Meghalaya, with a musical festival showcasing the cultural diversity of Meghalaya.”

This will be Gandhi’s first visit to the north-eastern state after becoming the Congress president last year. The Congress president is on a two-day visit to Meghalaya from today.

Check Live Updates of Rahul Gandhi’s visit to Meghalaya

9:13 pm: Congress President Rahul Gandhi takes part in “Celebration of Peace” event in Shillong.

8:03 pm: Congress President Rahul Gandhi attended the State Congress Committee Executive Meeting in Shillong ahead of Meghalaya assembly elections.

6: 21 pm: Congress president meet with party leaders at Jowai was held at Indoor Stadium, Chutwakhu Socio and Cultural Club. Media persons were not allowed inside the hall. The meeting was attended by party workers and few supporters of Congress candidates from East and West Jaintia Hills districts, as per media reports.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi takes on a foot march (Source: Twitter/ Congress)

6: 04 pm: Congress President Rahul Gandhi is also expected to address a programme at St. Edmund’s College in Shillong after attending a musical event at Polo ground in Shillong at around 7 pm today.

5: 26 pm: Congress president, Rahul Gandhi interacted with the people of Meghalaya. The Congress President hits the campaign with the slogan of One Meghalaya.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi welcomed by people in Meghalaya

4: 48 pm: Congress President Rahul Gandhi reaches Meghalaya. He addressed the party workers at Jowai. See Pic

Rahul Gandhi addresses party workers (Source: Twitter/Congress)
Congress President Rahul Gandhi being greeted by Meghalaya party leaders

4: 25 pm: Congress President Rahul Gandhi will hit the campaign with a two day visit to Meghalaya. Check out his schedule:

3: 45 pm: The Congress President Rahul Gandhi has arrived in Guwahati and will be heading to Meghalaya to kick off the Assembly election campaign. See Pic

Congress President meets party leaders in Guwahati

3: 15 pm: Reportedly, Rahul Gandhi will have his breakfast with the religious heads on January 31. Heads of various traditional institutions will also be present during the meet.

2: 45 pm: The Congress president will be campaigning in all the Khasi, Jaintia and Garo Hills region in the state ahead of the elections, as per a PTI report. The Congress has already announced in its first list the names of 56 candidates including Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and party chief C Lyngdoh.

2.15 pm: On Monday, Congress suffered a big setback in Meghalaya after 115 members of the party from two constituencies of the state resigned over the allotment of election tickets. In Chokpot assembly seat of South Garo Hills district, 100 Congress members put in their papers on Monday to protest against Lazarus Sangam’s nomination. Similarly, another 15 Congress members from Jirang seat in Ri Bhoi district quit over ticket allocation to Witness Syngkli, PTI reported party sources as saying.

Follow financialexpress.com for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition