Presidential Elections 2017: CEC Nasim Zaidi says election to take place on July 17, counting on July 20

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: Jun 07, 2017 6:00 PM

Presidential Elections 2017: Ahead of the Presidential Elections that are scheduled to take place before July 25, the Election Commission of India addressed the media today.

Presidential Elections 2017, Pranab Mukherjee, Election Commission, Election Commission of india, ECI, president, Rashtrapati Bhawan, President of India, Rajya sabha, lok sabha, election newsChief Election Commissioner Naseem Zaidi. (ANI)

Presidential Elections 2017: Ahead of the polls, the Election Commission of India addressed the media today. Pranab Mukherjee, who assumed office in July 2012, is the 13th President of India and his term is ending soon. Speaking today, Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said, “the term of President Pranab Mukherjee will end on July 24.” He further said, “ECI is honoured and privileged to announce today the schedule of Election for the President of India.” While further briefing the gathered correspondents on the election, CEC said, “ECI is taking all necessary steps to ensure free and fair elections to the office of President of India.” He thereafter revealed that the ECI notification for Presidential Election will be issued on Wednesday, June 14, 2017.

While talking about the polling schedule he said that the last date for filing nominations is June 28, 2017, the polling will take place on July 17 and the counting for the same will take place on July 20. The scrutiny of nominations for the polls will take place on June 29, 2017. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is July 1. Zaidi further talked about the details of the election and said that the Secretary General of Lok Sabha will be the Returning Officer for the election. The ballot papers for polls will be marked by a particular pen that will be supplied by the ECI itself. He also said that the political parties cannot issue any whip to their MPs or MLAs registered for casting vote in the Presidential Election.

You may also want to watch-

The President of India is elected by an electoral college that consists of the elected members of both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, elected members of the 29 state legislative assemblies along with the elected members of the legislative assembly of the Union Territories- Delhi and Puducherry.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Extradition: Legal hitch delaying Vijay Mallya return, says Modi govt
2Entry of agitating farmers into Delhi on R-Day: Delhi Police to decide: SC
3PM Narendra Modi appointed chairman of Gujarat’s Somnath temple trust