Parsa Election Results 2020: JDU’s Chandrika Rai loses to Chhote Lal Ray of RJD

By: |
Updated: Nov 10, 2020 7:21 PM

Parsa Assembly Election Result 2020 News UPDATES: The Parsa assembly constituency is in Saran district of Bihar. The Parsa constituency went to polls in phase two held on November 3.

chandrika rai Election Result 2020, parsa chandrika rai election result liveChandrika Rai of JDU

Parsa Assembly Election Result 2020: Chandrika Rai of JDU has lost the election to Chhote Lal Ray of the RJD. As per EC, RJD candidate Chhote Lal ray defeated Chandrika Rai by 17293 votes. A former minister, Chandrika Rai had been with the RJD for well over two decades. His daughter Aishwarya Rai was married to Tej Pratap Yadav, eldest son of former chief minister Lalu Prasad Yadav. However, his relations with the Yadav family turned sour following which he quit RJD to join Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal-United (JDU).

ALSO READ | Bihar Election 2020 Results – LIVE UPDATES 

The JDU had fielded Chandrika from the same seat against Chhote Lal Rai of the RJD and Rakesh Kumar Singh of LJP. Chandrika Rai had been representing Parsa seat since 1985 except for the period from 2005 to 2015. Chandrika Rai has won the Parsa assembly seat six times — in 1985, 1990, 1995, 2000, 2005 (Feb) and 2015. His challenger Chhote Lal Rai also represented this constituency twice — 2005 and 2010. This is his third victory.

In 2010, Chhote Lal Rai had defeated Chandrika by over 4000 votes. Chhote Lal had got 44828 votes with 44.32 per cent vote whereas Chandrika Rai could get only 40139 votes with 39.68 per cent votes. In October 2005, the margin of defeat was even bigger. Chandrika Rai had lost to Chhote Lal by over 11,000 votes.

In 2015, Chandrika wrested back the Parsa constituency again from Chhote Lal. Chandrika got 77,211 votes with 55.91 per cent votes while Chhote Lal got just 34876 votes with 25.26 per cent votes. The Parsa assembly constituency is in Saran district of Bihar. The Parsa constituency went to polls in phase two held on November 3.


Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1UP Panchayat Election 2021: Phase 2 voting tomorrow; 11,483 candidates in fray for zila panchayats, 1.22 lakh for gram panchayats
2AAP, BJP spar over COVID-19 hospitals in Delhi
3PM Modi should resign owning responsibility for COVID-19 surge: Mamata Banerjee