1. Nitish Kumar returns as Bihar CM, to seek Narendra Modi’s cooperation

Nitish Kumar returns as Bihar CM, to seek Narendra Modi’s cooperation

Mamata Banerjee, Akhilesh Yadav attend swearing-in function

By: | Patna | Published: February 23, 2015 12:02 AM

Nine months after he stepped down, JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar was on Sunday sworn-in as the Bihar chief minister, ending days of political drama following a bitter power struggle with Jitan Ram Manjhi.

Kumar, 63, was administered the oath of office by Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi at a glittering function at the Raj Bhawan, which was attended, among others by Manjhi, who had refused to quit as chief minister to make way for Kumar in defiance of the party leadership.

Besides Kumar, 22 ministers, including three women, were also administered the oath of office.

Former prime minister HD Deve Gowda, several chief ministers — Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), Akhilesh Yadav (Uttar Pradesh), Tarun Gogoi (Assam) and INLD leader Abhay Chautala, were also present on the occasion.

Of these 22 ministers in Kumar’s team, 20 had resigned from the Manjhi government, while two others, namely PK Shahi and Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lallan Singh, were sacked by the former chief minister.

PM congratulates

Thanking Prime Minister Narendra Modi for congratulating him on becoming Chief Minister of Bihar for fourth time, Nitish Kumar today said political rivalry notwithstanding he would meet PM and seek Centre-State cooperation for development of the state.

“Politically we can be face to face with each other. But, for development of Bihar I will have no hesitation to meet him and stress for healthy Centre-State cooperation,” Kumar told reporters after taking oath as CM .

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

  1. No Comments.

Go to Top