Moradabad Mayor Election Result 2017: BJP’s Vinod Agarwal wins

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: December 1, 2017 2:49:50 PM

Moradabad Mayor Election Result 2017 Live Updates: BJP Mayor candidate Vinod Agarwal has won the election.

 Moradabad results, Moradabad results live, Moradabad civic polls results, Moradabad municipal corporation results, Moradabad municipal results, yogi adityanath, Moradabad mayor, Moradabad mayor nameMoradabad Mayor Election Result 2017: BJP Mayor candidate Vinod Agarwal has won the election.

Moradabad Mayor Election Result 2017: In a major boost for Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and BJP, party candidate Vinod Agarwal has won the election. The results of municipal corporation elections in Uttar Pradesh decelared today. However, the counting was mired in controversy. Notes attached with ballot paper recovered during counting. The shocking incident was reported from Thakurdwara centre in Moradabad. Opposition has blamed BJP candidate Rajpal Kashyap of buying votes. Returning Officer has said that action will be taken. Notably, the election campaign had generated a lot of interest as the ruling BJP left nothing to chance. Adityanath himself travelled across the state to woo voters in the name of development, while opposition SP, BSP and Congress campaigns were comparatively low key.

On November 22, 24 districts in UP went to polls for the municipal elections with voting being held in 4,095 wards over 230 local bodies. As many as 3,731 polling stations and 11, 683 polling booths have been set up for the 1.09 crore eligible voters. The first phase of polling began on November 22. In all the three phases, a combined 3.32 crore voters were eligible to cast their vote at 36, 269 polling booths and 11,389 polling stations. The Bharatiya Janata Party had won a landslide victory in municipal polls in 2012 winning 10 out of 12 mayoral positions. The current Deputy Chief Minister of UP Dinesh Sharma had then won the position of Lucknow mayor.

Read Also: UP Civic Polls 2017 results LIVE Updates

The Mathura-Vrindavan municipal corporation and Ayodhya municipal corporation (covering Faizabad and Ayodhya) formed under the Adityanath government were also going to polls. For the first phase, polling was held in Meerut, Agra, Kanpur, Ayodhya and Gorakhpur. For the second phase, Ghaziabad, Aligarh, Mathura, Allahabad, Lucknow and Varanasi went to polls and for the third phase, voting was held for Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bareilly, Firozabad and Jhansi.

BJP’s Vinod Agarwal wins

Read Also: Moradabad Municipal Corporation Nagar Nigam elections result 2017: Full List of ward-wise winners

Samajwadi Party chief and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav abstained from campaigning rigorously and held a handful of press conferences and meetings before the elections. Akhilesh’s suffered a massive defeat at the hands of BJP in the Assembly election and despite Adityanath jumping into the campaign trail, Akhilesh did not follow.

The Bahujan Samaj Party which contested the municipal polls after over 20 years didn’t see party supremo and former UP CM Mayawati campaign at all. Her party finished third in the Assembly elections and for long had a policy of not contesting local elections. Paper ballots as well as electronic voting machines were used for polls, according to reports. EVMs were employed for voting in 16 municipal corporations while in 438 municipal boards or nagar panchayats and 198 nagar palikas or town areas paper ballots were used.

According to the State Election Commission, the overall polling percentage in the first phase on November 22 stood at 52.59. In 2012, the polling percentage in these districts that went to polls in first phase was 46.1. The highest polling in the first phase was recorded in Hamirpur, which witnessed a 69.59 per cent turnout, followed by Amethi. The second phase of the elections saw an average voter turnout of over 50 per cent. A total of 1.3 crore electors in 25 districts were eligible to exercise their franchise in the second phase. In 2012, the polling percentage in these districts was 43.67.


Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Freedom fighter Saraswati Tripathy passes away
2President Ram Nath Kovind arrives in Nagaland
3Skill India to train 20,000 youth in textile sector