MCD Standing Committee Election: AAP claims big win after party bags 3 seats, says BJP transferred votes to Congress

By: |
Updated: Jun 25, 2020 4:30 PM

MCD Standing Committee Election Result, MCD Standing Committee Members: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won three seats in the standing committee election of all the three MCDs.

mcd standing committee election MCS Standing Committee Election 2020: AAP wins three seats

Standing Committee MCD Delhi: The ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won three seats in the standing committee election of all the three MCDs. Those who were declared winners on Wednesday are Jitendra Kumar (South MCD), Ajay Sharma (North MCD) and Geeta Rawat (East Delhi).

All the three are now members of the standing committees of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi.

“Today is a proud day for the AAP as we have won three seats in the standing committee of all the three MCDs. To defeat the AAP, the BJP transferred their 14 votes to the Congress party but Ajay Sharma of AAP won the election in North MCD,” AAP leader Durgesh Pathak said.

“Jitender Kumar has won the election from South Delhi (SDMC) and Geeta Rawat has won the election from EDMC. In North MCD, Ajay Sharma defeated Congress councillor Mukesh Goyal who has never lost in any election, so it is a proud moment for us,” he said.

Senior AAP leader and Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh alleged that the BJP transferred its 14 votes to Congress but couldn’t defeat AAP candidate Ajay Sharma.

“To defeat the Aam Aadmi Party in the MCD standing committee election, the BJP transferred its 14 votes to the Congress. But it couldn’t defeat Ajay Sharma. Many congratulations,” he tweeted.

Meanwhile, BJP leaders Jai Prakash and Ritu Goel have been elected unanimously as the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of North Delhi Municipal Corporation, respectively.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Madhya Pradesh: Portfolio allocation panning out as fresh Shivraj-Scindia flashpoint after cabinet expansion
2Rahul Gandhi skipped all parliamentary committee meetings on defence, but demoralises armed forces: JP Nadda
3Shyama Prasad Mookerjee jayanti: PM Modi pays tributes to Bharatiya Jan Sangh founder on his birth anniversary