Mathura-Vrindavan Mayor Election Result 2017 Live Updates: BJP candidate Mukesh Arya is new Mayor

By: |
Mathura | Updated: December 01, 2017 3:49 PM

The civic polls results are eagerly awaited both by ruling BJP in the state and the opposition parties including Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and the Congress.

Mathura nagar nigam elections, Mathura Mayor results, UP Civic polls results liveMathura Municipal Corporation Nagar Nigam elections Mayor polls results 2017 Live Updates

Mathura Municipal Corporation Nagar Nigam Elections, Mayor Poll Results 2017: The results of municipal corporation elections in Uttar Pradesh were declared. BJP candidate Mukesh Arya has won the Mayoral seat from Mathura. Mukesh Arya managed to get 41,222 votes and emerged victorious while Congress candidate Mohan Singh got 4,706 lesser votes and came in second place with 36,516 votes. Mathura is a sacred city and Lord Krishna is said to have been born on the site of Sri Krishna Janma Bhoomi, a Hindu temple. There are 25 ghats in the city around the Yamuna River of which Vishram Ghat is considered the holiest.

The Yogi Adityanath government, soon after assuming office in March, had constituted two municipal corporations of Ayodhya and Vrindavan-Mathura. The election campaign had generated a lot of interest as the ruling BJP left nothing to chance. Mathura and Vrindavan municipal boards now constitute the Mathura Nagar Nigam and this is the first election of the recently merged board.

In a nail-biting contest, BJP and Congress both get 874 votes in Ward no.56 in Mathura. The winner was decided by a lucky draw. The drawn chit had BJP’s Meera Agarwal’s name. Thereby, the candidate for Mathura’s Ward number 56 Meera Agarwal won the election.

The final result of Mathura would be updated soon.

Mathura Civic Polls Results 2017: Latest Trends/Results BJP 09 INC 02 SP 03 BSP 01, Others 0

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Punjab Election 2022: AAP’s Raghav Chadha says Navjot Singh Sidhu is ‘Rakhi Sawant’ of Punjab politics
2‘Beware of EVMs and DMs’: Akhilesh Yadav asks party workers to ‘save’ polling booths from BJP’s ‘evil eye’
3BJP kicks off 14-day ‘Seva aur Samarpan’ Abhiyan to mark PM Narendra Modi’s birthday, 20 years in public life