Manoj Sinha takes oath as new Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir

By: |
Updated: Aug 07, 2020 2:02 PM

BJP leader and former Union minister Manoj Sinha was on Friday was sworn in as the new lieutenant governor of Jammu and Kashmir.

Manoj Sinha takes oath as new LG of Jammu and Kashmir

Senior BJP leader and former Union minister Manoj Sinha was on Friday sworn in as the new Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir. Sinha, 61, was administered the oath of office by Jammu and Kashmir Chief Justice Gita Mittal in Raj Bhavan in Srinagar.

Advisors to the previous Lieutenant Governors, including Farooq Khan and Baseer Khan, as well as senior bureaucrats and policemen were present at the swearing-in ceremony. Rajya Sabha member Nazir Ahmed Laway, BJP Lok Sabha member Jugal Kishore Sharma and Jammu and Kashmir Apni Party leaders Ghulam Hasan Mir were also present.

Sinha succeeds former IAS officer Girish Chandra Murmu, who resigned on Wednesday night. Murmu served as the first Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir from October 31, 2019 to August 5, 2020. Murmu has been appointed as the next Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG).

“Kashmir is heaven of India, I have been given an opportunity to play a role here. 5th Aug is an important date, after years of isolation J&K came to mainstream. Several projects started here after years, my priority is to take those projects forward,” Sinha told reporters after taking the oath.

“There won’t be any bias against anyone. Constitutional powers will be used for people’s welfare. I assure the people that their genuine grievances will be listened to and we will try to find a way to the solution. It is my aim to take forward the development here,” the new L-G added.

Sinha becomes the first political leader to take charge of the newly formed Union Territory. The BJP leader is known for his connection with people, particularly in rural areas.

He was born on July 1, 1959 in Mohanpura of Ghazipur district of eastern UP and has been actively involved in working for the backward villages of eastern Uttar Pradesh.

His political career started when he was elected the president of Banaras Hindu University Students Union in 1982. He was elected to the Lok Sabha for the first time in 1996 and repeated the term in 1999.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Punjab to set up Vigilance Commission to check corruption among public servants
2EXPLAINED: Why the clamour for Sixth Schedule is growing in Ladakh
3Delhi panel defers proceedings after SC order on summons to Facebook