Madhya Pradesh political crisis: Speaker accepts resignations of six former ministers

By: |
March 14, 2020 8:48 PM

With the Speaker's decision, the effective strength of the MP Assembly is now 222.

madhya pradesh, madhya pradesh crisisMadhya Pradesh Assembly Speaker N P Prajapati (IE)

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Speaker N P Prajapati on Saturday accepted the resignations of six rebel MLAs who were ministers in the Kamal Nath government.

These MLAs were sacked from the cabinet after they, alongwith 16 other legislators, resigned in support of Jyotiraditya Scindia who left the Congress and joined the BJP.

“I have accepted the resignations of Imarati Devi, Tulsi Silawat, Govind Singh Rajput, Mahendra Singh Sisodiya, Pradyumn Singh Tomar and Prabhuram Chaudhari,” Prajapti told reporters.

“I had given them time to appear in person on Friday and Saturday after their resignations came in for verification. But they did not turn up,” he added.

With the Speaker’s decision, the effective strength of the MP Assembly is now 222. Two seats are vacant.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Bihar election 2020: Candidates can hold rallies with social distancing norms, says Election Commission
2Chopper scam: Court takes cognisance of supplementary charge sheet
3NCP’s Ajit Pawar pays tribute to Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay, later deletes tweet