Madhya Pradesh Assembly bypolls: BSP to contest all 27 seats, releases first list of 8 candidates

By: |
Updated: August 28, 2020 4:21 PM

In the 2018 Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections, the BSP had won two seats.

BSP to contest all 27 seats for which bypolls will be held in Madhya Pradesh in September.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has announced names of eight candidates for the by-elections to 27 Assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh.

The list of candidates for eight seats, which are in Gwalior-Chambal region, was finalised by party president and former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati, party sources said.

“We will contest all 27 seats for which bypolls will be held,” president of the BSP’s state unit Ramakant Pippal said on Friday.

The party has fielded former MLA Soneram Kushwaha from Joura, Ram Prakash Rajoria from Morena, Yogesh Meghsingh Narwaria from Mehgaon, Kailash Kushwaha from Pohri (all general seats), Bhanu Pratapsingh Sakhwar from Ambah, Jaswant Patwari from Ambah, Santosh Gaud from Dabra and Rajendra Jatav from Pohri (all SC ssseats).

In the 2018 state Assembly elections, the BSP had won two seats in the state.

The bypolls are yet to be scheduled for 27 seats, which are currently lying vacant due to the resignation of 25 MLAs and death of the two sitting legislators.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1PM Modi to bring back 157 antiquities handed over by US
2PM Modi spoke like statesman, made country proud: BJP chief JP Nadda
3COVID-19: Extension granted on limitation period for filing court cases to end on October 2, says Supreme Court