Live Blog: Odisha Panchayat elections 2017: Around 73 per cent turnout in second phase

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: February 15, 2017 10:14:26 PM

The second phase of polling for panchayat elections started across 65 blocks on Wednesday morning.

The second phase of polling for panchayat elections started across 65 blocks on Wednesday morning.The second phase of polling for panchayat elections started across 65 blocks on Wednesday morning.

The second phase of polling for panchayat elections started across 65 blocks on Wednesday morning. Polling is scheduled to be held in 174 Zilla Parishad constituencies spread across 29 districts except Deogarh, said SEC secretary Rabindanath Sahoo. He said as many as 53,62,814 voters will elect their Zilla Parishad, Samiti and Ward members, along with Sarpanchs. The Zilla Parishad candidate of Polsara has already won the seat uncontested. Polling is being held at 18,581 wards of 1,386 panchayats. Like the first phase, the second phase of polling will also start at 7 AM and continue till 12 noon. Counting of votes will start from 1 PM, Sahoo said adding, CCTVs and videography arrangements have been made in hyper-sensitive and sensitive booths. The SEC said District Collectors and Superintendents of Police have been instructed to ensure free and fair polling.

As Odisha goes for the three-tier panchayat election, the Election Commission has confirmed that at least 71 per cent of the 58,28,446 voters exercised their franchise in the first phase of the five phased elections. Though being conducted mostly peacefully, the first phase of the panchayat elections witnessed a few stray incidents of violence which left at least four people injured. It has been learned that though the first phase of panchayat elections in Jajpur district remained by and large peaceful, many voters who had voters’ identity cards were seen returning disappointed after not finding their names on the voters’ list. According to a report by the Odisha TV, BJD leads the winning tally among the 188 Zilla Parishad seats, even as BJP makes unexpected gains, so far. As per the tally, while BJD leads with 94, BJP gets 65 seats and Congress 10 seats.

Track live updates:

10.12 pm: 2ndPhasePanchayatPolls – Tally so far: Total polled-174; BJD winner in 87 ZP zones, BJP-55, Congress-12, Others-3 Odisha

9.45 pm: A Sarpanch candidate in fray for the three-tier panchayat elections, Mani Pradhan,
35, and his supporter, Sudheer Patel, 40, have reportedly died in a road accident.

8.55 pm: 2ndPhasePanchayatPolls: Tally so far: Total polled-174; BJD winner in 80 ZP zones, BJP-51, Congress-11, others-3 Odisha

8.30 pm: 2ndPhasePanchayatPolls: Tally so far: Total polled-174; BJD winner in 65 ZP zones, BJP-50, #Congress-7, others-3 Odisha

7.30 pm: Tally so far: Total polled-174; BJD winner in 61 ZP zones, #BJP-46, #Congress-7, others-3 #Odisha

6:07 PM: Around 73 percent turnout in 2nd phase of panchayat polls in Odisha. Dhenkanal recorded highest with 83% polling, says News World Odisha report.

3:45 PM: As per trend in panchayati polls so far in second phase,  BJD leading in 42, BJP in 26, Cong in 2 and Others at 1, reports OTV.

3:15 PM: BJP leads in 3 Zilla Parishad zones in Bolangir, 2 in Sambalpur; while BJD leads in 3 zones in Boudh, the channel says.

2:45 PM: Out of 4 Zilla Parishad zones in Jagatsinghpur dist, BJD leads in 3 zones, while Congress leads in 1, reports OTV.

2:31 PM: Home guard on-duty dies during polling at Kainchua under Balianta block during panchayat polls.

2:15 PM: BJD MLA Priyadarshi Mishra accuses BJP violating poll conduct during p anchayat poll, says reports.

2:06 PM: Would like to thank people of Odisha for their unprecedented support during panchayat elections: PM Narendra Modi

2:01 PM: No voting at Nakamamudi in Malkangiri district due to Maoist threat, reports News World Odisha.

12:50 PM: Symbol of candidate missing from some ballot papers. Voting stalled at booth no. 1, reports OTV.

12:40 PM: Voting stalled due to blank ballot Balasore district’s Baliapala, the channel says.

12:25 PM: Clash between two groups of BJD in Athagarh during MLA Raja Swain’s campaigning for panchayat polls, reports OTV.

12:05 PM: 55 percent polling by 11.30 am in Odisha panchayat elections, OTV quotes SEC as saying.

11:50 AM: Miscreants open fire in Boudh district to terrorise voters. Forces have been deployed, reports OTV.

11:36 AM: Complaint lodged against former minister SaradaNayak at Jhiripani PS for allegedly distributing money to voters, reports News World Odisha.

11:28 AM: Sadar block officials stage dharna protesting against SEC’s order for BDO’s suspension, says OTV report

10:58 AM: 40 percent polling by 10 AM. Irregularities reported from Jajpur district only: SEC

10:49 AM: Presiding Officer thrashed for opposing proxy voting at Radhanga under Bisam Katak block in Rayagada district, says OTV.

9:05 AM: Kumarkhani villagers under Rambhila GP boycott panchayat poll alleging lack of basic amenities in village, the channel report says.

8:46 AM: Group clash at Angarua village near Keonjhar district of Odisha, the channel says.

7:45 PM: Five arrested on charges of looting ballot box from Balel GP in Koraput district, says OTV.

7:00AM: Polling begins for Panchayat elections in Orissa.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.