Legislative Council elections for 11 seats in Karnataka on June 11

By: |
Bengaluru | Published: May 22, 2018 10:41:54 PM

KARNATAKA, ELECTIONSThe counting will be held on June 11, the commission said. (PTI)

Biennial elections to the Karnataka Legislative Council by members of legislative assembly to fill 11 seats will be held on June 11, the Election Commission announced today.

The election has been necessitated as the term of 11 membersof the council, elected by MLAs, will expire on June 17.

The members who will retire are B J Puttaswamy (BJP),M R Seetharam (Congress), Motamma (Congress), D S Veeraiah (BJP), Syed Mudeer Aga (JDS), Somanna M Bevinamarad (BJP),Raghunath
Rao Malkapure (BJP), Bhanu Prakash (BJP), C MIbrahim (Congress), K Govindaraj (Congress) and B S Suresh(IND).

The notification for the biennial election will be issued on May 24, and the last date for filing of nominations is May31, the commission said in a press release.

Scrutiny of nominations will be held on June 1, while the last datefor withdrawal of candidature is June 4, it said.

The counting will be held on June 11, the commission said.

Follow financialexpress.com for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition