Kiran Bedi named BJP’s CM candidate for Delhi Assembly polls

By: | Updated: January 20, 2015 9:36 AM

Brushing aside dissent within, BJP today named new-entrant Kiran Bedi, a former IPS officer, as its...

Kiran Bedi, Kiran Bedi BJP, Kiran Bedi Delhi Assembly elections, Kiran Bedi CM candidate, Kiran Bedi news, Delhi Assembly elections, Delhi Assembly elections Kiran Bedi, Delhi Assembly elections newsBJP leader Kiran Bedi waves to supporters during a road show in Rohini as part of her campaign for the upcoming Delhi assembly elections, in New Delhi. PTI

Brushing aside dissent within, BJP today named new-entrant Kiran Bedi, a former IPS officer, as its Chief Ministerial candidate for the February seven Delhi Assembly elections and declared 62 of the 70 candidates.

Making the announcement after a meetings of the BJP Parliamentary Board and the Central election Comimittee, party president Amit Shah said the decision to field 65-year-old Bedi was “unanimous”.

He said BJP will contest the polls for the 70-member Assembly under Bedi’s leadership.

She will contest from Krishna Nagar seat in East Delhi, considered a BJP stronghold and a traditional party seat from where Harshvardhan had contested last time.

The Parliamentary Board and CEC meetings were attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj among others.

“The BJP Parliamentary board has decided that Kiran Bedi will be BJP’s Chief Ministeerial face in Delhi Assembly polls. As a police officer, she has won the confidence of people of Delhi and has been a known name against corruption and crime,” Shah said.

“I am sure BJP under Kiran Bedi will fulfil the aspirations of people of Delhi. I am confident that Kiran Bedi’s leadership will ensure victory for BJP in the upcoming Delhi elections,” Shah said at a press conference after the meeting of the Parliamentary Board.

BJP General Secretary and Union Minister J P Nadda announced the names of 62 candidates finalised by the CEC.

Prominent among those whose names have been declared include former Union Minister and Congress leader Krishna Tirath, who joined BJP earlier in the day. She will contest from Patel Nagar (SC) seat.

Former Delhi minister Jagdish Mukhi will be in fray from Janakpuri and former Delhi BJP chief Vijendra Gupta from Rohini seat.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition