Karnataka MLC election 2020: Intense lobbying in Congress as 52 people apply for two seats

By: |
Updated: June 15, 2020 4:44 PM

Karnataka MLC Election 2020 Date: Polling to fill seven MLC seats in the Karnataka Legislative Council will take place on June 29.

karnataka mlc election 2020Intense lobbying underway in Karnataka Congress for two MLC seats. Polling will take place on June 29.

Karanataka MLC Election 2020 Date: There is growing clamour in a section of the Congress to pick up grassroot level workers for the Legislative Council (MLC) elections to seven seats on June 29 while 52 aspirants have so far applied for the two seats the party is likely to win.

The elections to the seats will take place following the retirement of Naseer Ahmed, Jayamma, M C Venugopal, N S Bose Raju, H M Revanna, T A Sharavana and D U Mallikarjuna. The Congress is likely to win two seats, while its rival parties the BJP may get four seats and the JD(S) one as these members will be elected by the MLAs.

The ruling BJP has 116 members excluding Speaker, Congress has 68 and the JD(S) has 34 members in the assembly.

The Congress workers have cited examples of the recent selection of two dark horses Eranna Kadadi and Ashok Gasti as Rajya Sabha candidates by the BJP leadership.

“BJP has shown the way how to reward the committed workers.The same should be followed in our party as well,” a ticket aspirant told PTI speaking on the condition of anonymity.

Intense lobbying has started in the Congress as the race hots up.

“Competition is indeed tough. So far 52 people have applied for the two seats. The party is likely to win,” a party insider told PTI.

The top contenders, according to party sources, are Ivan D’Souza, Saleem Ahmed, Nazeer Ahmed, Nivedith Alva, M R Sitharam, H M Revanna, M C Venugopal, V S Ugrappa, Mohan Babu, Mudda Hanumegowda, Rajeev Gowda, Nataraj Gowda, Kavitha Reddy and Dr Nagalakshmi Chowdhary.

The notification has already been issued for the election as per the schedule and the last date of filing nomination is June 18.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Another move aimed at Delhi? Mamata Banerjee elected TMC Parliamentary Party chief
2Twitter India MD to be treated as witness, doesn’t need to travel to UP to testify: Karnataka HC
3Burying the hatchet: Amarinder Singh by his side, Navjot Singh Sidhu takes charge as Punjab Congress chief