Karnataka MLC election to fill 7 vacant seats on June 29, says EC; check full schedule

By: |
Updated: Jun 09, 2020 3:27 PM

Karnataka MLC Election Date: Polling to fill seven MLC seats in the Karnataka Legislative Council will take place on June 29.

karnataka mlc election 2020 dateMLC Election in Karnataka on June 29. (File pic)

The Election Commission on Tuesday announced that polls to fill the seven Legislative Council seats in Karnataka will be held on June 29. The seven seats will fall vacant on June 30 after completion of the tenures of members.

The notification for the polls will be issued on Thursday and the last date for filing nomination will be June 18. The last date for withdrawal of candidates will be June 22. Polling will take place on June 29 between 9 am and 4 pm. Counting of votes will begin at 5 pm the same day.

The seven MLCs who will retire on June 30 are Naseer Ahmed, Jayamma, MC Venugopal, NS Bosaraju, HM Revanna, TA Saravana and DU Mallikarjuna.

The ECI said that adequate measures will be put in place for close monitoring of the entire exercise. The poll body has asked the Chief Secretary to depute a senior officer from the state to ensure Coronavirus containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections.

Meanwhile, lobbying has started in both the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress for vacancies. According to reports, the Congress is likely to win two MLC seats of the seven and the JD(S) one. The BJP will probably get the remaining 4 seats.

MLCs are usually elected by four types of electors — MLAs, Graduates, Teachers and members of local authorities.

On Monday, the Election Commission had deferred elections to four seats of the Karnataka Legislative Council — two each from Teachers and Graduate constituencies — falling vacant on June 30 due to the outbreak of the novel coronavirus.

“If MLAs are electors, the size of the electorate is small and the assembly building is the only polling station. When the electorate is teachers or graduates, the number of those who can vote is higher. Due to the virus, Commission only allowed polls to seats where MLAs are the electors to prevent large gatherings,” explained a senior EC functionary.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Bihar Elections 2020: First phase provisional voter turnout stands at 53.54%, slightly lower than 2015
2PM Modi to participate in Vallabhbhai Patel birth anniversary events in Gujarat
3Delhi Court acquits Arvind Kejriwal in defamation case filed by BJP MP Ramesh Bidhuri